Pierson claims ninth wins in Sportsman Modifieds, Midget features

BRADFORD – Adam Pierson was seeing nines on Saturday night at Bear Ridge Speedway.

The East Corinth driver posted his ninth wins of the season in both Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modified and USAC Dirt Midget Association features.

Pierson worked his way from a back-of-the-field starting spot to claim the win in the 40-lap Sportsman Modified feature.

Former champion Chris Donnelly of Piermont, N.H. chased Pierson through the field to finish second while Mike Dunn of North Haverhill, N.H. completed the podium finishers. Josh Currier and D.J. Robinson finished fourth and fifth while Terry Williams, Lenny Pillsbury, Gary Siemons, Ryan Christian, and Richie Simmons completed the top-ten finishers, respectively.

Pierson would take his ninth series win – sixth at Bear Ridge – in the 25-lap USAC Dirt Midget Association feature.

The win for Pierson came after he worked his way from the rear of the field and took the lead with five laps remaining.

Rober Tucker of Topsham finished second with Dean Christensen of Granby, Conn. finished third. Seth Carlson and Jeff Champagne completed the top-five finishers while sixth through tenth went to Adam Whitey, Andy Barrows, Jim Santa Maria, Jeff Horn, and Ray Miller.

Driver Josh Sunn was involved in a violent flip during his heat race and was airlifted to Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. An update on his condition can be found here.

Hometown driver Thomas Placey claimed his first win of the season in the 30-lap Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe feature.

Placey jumped at a bobble by leader Josh Harrington with just three laps remaining to make the race-winning pass.

Harrington, of Topsham, settled for second with Jason Horniak of Bradford third. Earl Maxham and Buster Kathan finished fourth and fifth while Brian Chaffee, Mike Chaffee, Bob Shepard, Michael Danforth, and Christian completed the top-ten finishers.

Chelsea’s Wayland Childs claimed his second win of the season in the 20-lap Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Model feature. Point leader Tim Martin finished second with Derrick Stearns third. John Neddo and John Fields completed the top-five finishers.

Danny Doyle of Rochester claimed his fifth Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinder feature over Jim Durkee, Mike Ryan, Buddy Welch, and Sean Perron.

Bear Ridge Speedway continues its 49th season on Saturday, September 3 with “Topless” Night. The Sprint Cars of New England will also be on hand. Post time is set for 6:00pm.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Dead River Oil Co. Night
Bear Ridge Speedway, Bradford, Vt.
Saturday, August 27, 2016

(# — denotes rookie)

Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds (40 laps)
1. Adam Pierson, East Corinth
2. Chris Donnelly, Piermont, N.H.
3. Mike Dunn, North Haverhill, N.H.
4. Josh Currier, Newport, N.H.
5. D.J. Robinson, Sharon
6. # Terry Williams, Wells River
7. # Lenny Pillsbury, Cornish, N.H.
8. Gary Siemons, Orford, N.H.
9. Ryan Christian, Canaan, N.H.
10. Richie Simmons, Bradford

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes (30 laps)
1. Thomas Placey, Bradford
2. Josh Harrington, Topsham
3. Jason Horniak, Bradford
4. Earl Maxham, Enfield, N.H.
5. Buster Kathan, Ludlow
6. Brian Chaffee, Bradford
7. Mike Chaffee, East Corinth
8. Bob Shepard, Topsham
9. Michael Danforth, Corinth
10. Ryan Christian, Canaan, N.H.

Laquerre’s Sport USAC Dirt Midget Association (25 laps)
1. Adam Pierson, Bradford
2. Robert Tucker, Topsham
3. Dean Christensen, Granby, Conn.
4. Seth Carlson, Brimfield, Conn.
5. Jeff Champagne, Westfield, Mass.
6. Adam Whitney, Warren
7. Andy Barrows, New Ipswich, N.H.
8. Jim Santa Maria, Burlington, Mass.
9. Jeff Horn, Ashland, Mass.
10. Ray Miller, East Granby, Conn.

Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models (20 laps)
1. # Wayland Childs, Chelsea
2. Tim Martin, White River Junction
3. Derrick Stearns, Bradford
4. John Neddo, Barre
5. John Fields, Lyme, N.H.

Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders (20 laps)
1. Danny Doyle, Rochester
2. Jim Durkee, Hartford
3. Mike Ryan, Vershire
4. Buddy Welch, Corinth
5. Sean Perron, Sharon

PHOTO: Adam Pierson celebrates his ninth USAC Dirt Midget Association feature win of the season with his Frank Manafort Racing team members. Pierson would also win his ninth DIRTcar Sportsman Modified feature later in the evening. (Alan Ward photo)