(From series press release)

RUMNEY, N.H. — There have only been 20 perfect games in over 135 years of Major League Baseball, but rookie Dan Douville batted 1.000 in the Sprint Cars of New England Triple Crown. Douville scored the perfect triple by winning at Canaan Dirt Speedway on Friday, Bear Ridge Speedway on Saturday, and wrapping up the weekend on Sunday at Big Daddy’s Speedbowl with a win.

The night began with two sprint car champions — 2010 SCoNE champ Chris Donnelly and three-time champion Mark Cole — winning their heats. A race fan randomly selected an invert of the first two rows, however, pushing Donnelly and Cole back a row and allowing Kevin Chaffee and Clay Dow to lead the field to the green flag.

Chaffee jumped into the lead, but the three racers moving up through the field were Douville, Donnelly, and newcomer Floyd Billington. Douville, of Bridgewater, N.H., rode the high side to the front, passing Chaffee for the lead. Douville encountered heavy traffic with a long green-flag run, but was flawless in maneuvering through the slower cars.

Chaffee spun out to set up a green-white-checker finish, but Douville’s flawless run continued to the checkered flag.

Douville took the Triple Crown by winning all three races, earning the $1,500 bonus offered by Kondrat Kustoms for sweeping the series. In his first race at Big Daddy’s, New Yorker Billington finished second while Donnelly, of Piermont, N.H., settled for third.

Sprint Cars of New England — Big Daddy’s Speedbowl, Rumney, N.H.
Sunday, September 5, 2010

# – denotes rookie

1. (6) # Dan Douville, Bridgewater, N.H.
2. (5) Floyd Billington, Jr., South Glens Falls, N.Y.
3. (3) # Chris Donnelly, Piermont, N.H.
4. (4) Mark Cole, Lebanon, N.H.
5. (2) Clay Dow, Ossipee, N.H.
6. (9) Matt Shuart, Walkill, N.Y.
7. (7) Bruce Kimball, Lebanon, N.H.
8. (10) Robby Bodwell, Sanford, Me.
9. (8) Lacey Hanson, Orwell, Vt.
10. (12) Randy Wimert, Falmouth, Me.
11. (1) # Kevin Chaffee, Orange, Vt.
12. (11) Rob Shuart, Walkill, N.Y.

Heat Winners: Chris Donnelly and Mark Cole

Final Triple Crown Points: 1. Douville 30, 2. Donnelly 24, 3. Dow, 18, 4. Cole 16, 5. Chaffee 15, 6. Kimball 9, 7. Tunk Berry 8, 8. Bodwell, 7, 9. Hanson 4, 10. Wimert 1

News and Notes:

— Lacey Hanson drove Si Allen’s No. 30 for the heat and feature. After hot laps, her regular No. 33 entry broke something in the rear, but Allen graciously provided Hanson with his ride so Hanson could continue her quest for the Triple Crown.

— With the season finished, SCoNE will be holding their awards banquet on Sat. Oct. 23 at Hart’s Turkey Farm in Meredith, N.H., from 4:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m. For more information visit www.nesprintcars.com or call Mike Kondrat at (603) 539-2725.