Twenty-eight-year-old becomes first female SCoNE winner

–by T.J. Ingerson (@TJIngerson)
VMM Editor

WENTWORTH, N.H. — Lacey Hanson made history on Friday night at Legion Speedway.

The 28-year-old female held off multi-time champion Chris Donnelly and youngster Tyler Austin to claim her first career Sprint Cars of New England win.

The win for Hanson comes after being part of the traveling 360 winged Sprint Car division for eight years.

The Orwell, Vt. driver used a borrowed car on Friday night at Legion after hers was damaged one week ago at Bear Ridge Speedway that saw her car flip over.

Hanson started in the seventh spot and quickly moved into the top spot over Lauren Boisvert following an early race caution. She then held onto the top spot through another caution period that erased a comfortable lead.

Current series point leader Donnelly began to look for a way around Hanson with four laps left all while maintaining her defense of Austin, too. Donnelly would make multiple attempts on the high side — nearly pulling even with Hanson on the final lap — but Hanson powered out of turn two to clear them and beat them both back to the line.

Austin of West Fairlee, Vt. finished second while Piermont, N.H. driver Donnelly, who started in the 12th spot, came home third. Hometrack runner Ryan Avery of nearby Campton, N.H. and defending series champion Dan Douville of Bridgewater, N.H. completed the top-five finishers.

Will Hull and Jake Williams finished sixth and seventh while one of Hanson’s fellow female drivers, Lauren Boisvert, posted a career best eighth place finish. Rookies Matt Hoyt and Chad Turck completed the top-ten finishers.

The Sprint Cars of New England will close out their 2016 point counting season on Saturday, September 17 at Bear Ridge Speedway.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — O’Reilly Auto Parts 25
Sprint Cars of New England
Legion Speedway, Wentworth, N.H.
Friday, September 9, 2016

(# — denotes rookie)

1. (7) Lacey Hanson, Orwell, Vt.
2. (9) Tyler Austin, West Fairlee, Vt.
3. (12) Chris Donnelly, Piermont, N.H.
4. (6) Ryan Avery, Campton, N.H.
5. (11) Dan Douville, Bridgewater, N.H.
6. (13) Will Hull, Plainfield, Vt.
7. (10) Jake Williams, Center Tuftonboro, N.H.
8. (1) Lauren Boisvert, Danbury, N.H.
9. (8) # Matt Hoyt, Campton, N.H.
10. (5) # Chad Turck, Pittsfield, N.H.
11. (4) Dennis McLeod, Concord, N.H.
12. (3) Patrick Smith, East Andover, N.H.
13. (2) Christine Boesch, Concord, N.H.

PHOTO: Lacey Hanson celebrates her first career Sprint Cars of New England win on Friday night at Legion Speedway. (Alan Ward photo)