Martin wins Tiger overall; Luck on Hennequin’s side in Street Stocks

–by T.J. Ingerson (@TJIngerson)
VMM Editor

BARRE – A fast moving but powerful thunder storm swept over Thunder Road just as the 150-lap VP Racing Fuels Vermont Governor’s Cup was set to start and an ensuing power outage forced officials to postpone the event.

No makeup date was immediately announced, but race tires were impounded by officials. Thunder Road co-owners Tom Curley and Ken Squier informed that a makeup date will be announced after various schedules are looked at to determine the best possible date.

Hometown fan favorite Nick Sweet was set to start on the pole position after an impressive last-to-first run to earn a “plus-nine” handicap in his heat race. The man he passed in the late stages of the final heat race, Jimmy Hebert, was scheduled to start to his outside.

Memorial Day Classic victor Tyler Cahoon earned a “plus-three” in his heat race and was scheduled to start third, as did ACT Late Model Tour driver Kyle Welch, who was scheduled to start fourth. Former Governor’s Cup winner Cody Blake also earned a plus-three and was set to start fifth.

Matt White, Scott Dragon, and Sweet won their respective heat races while Vermont Lieutenant Governor Phil Scott and Trampas Demers won their respective consolation races.

White and Dragon were set to start sixth and seventh, respectively, while Scott had earned himself a 12th place starting spot. Demers was set to start 18th.

The Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman and the Allen Lumber Street Stocks were able to complete their feature events before the rain and power outage forced the cancelation of the event.

Mike Martin of Craftsbury won the two-segment Tiger Sportsman feature event after finishes of fifth and first in the two respective segments.

The win for Martin was his second of the season.

That score bested youngster Stephen Donahue of Graniteville, who earned seven points after finishes of third and fourth, respectively, in the two segments. Defending champion Brendan Moodie of Wolcott finished third overall with eight points after he earned the win in the first segment.

Jason Woodard of Waterbury Center (9 points) and Eric Johnson of Randolph Center (10 points) completed the top-five overall finishers with Tommy Smith, Cameron Ouellette, Mark Barnier, Joe Steffen, and Doug Crowningshield the unofficial top-ten overall finishers.

Will Hennequin inherited the lead on lap 18 of the 25-lap Street Stock feature after leaders Richard Gravel and Garry Bashaw tangled in turn two.

The Morrisville driver was able to hold off rookie driver Brandon Lanphear on a late race restart to claim the win.

Jamon Perry of Hardwick finished third with rookie Cooper Bouchard of Hinesburg fourth. Tyler Austin of East Calais completed the top-five finishers. Sixth through tenth went to Thomas Merchant, Al Maynard, Matthew Smith, Gary Mullen, and Reilly Lanphear, unofficially.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – VP Racing Fuels Vermont Governor’s Cup
Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl, Barre, Vt.
Friday, July 15, 2016

Late Model 150 Starting Lineup
1. Nick Sweet, Barre
2. Jimmy Hebert, Williamstown
3. Tyler Cahoon, St. Jonhsbury
4. Kyle Welch, Newport, N.H.
5. Cody Blake, Barre
6. Matt White, Northfield
7. Scott Dragon, Milton
8. Jason Corliss, Barre
9. Josh Masterson, Bristol
10. Brooks Clark, Fayston
11. Kyle Pembrome, Montpelier
12. Phil Scott, Middlesex
13. Eric Badore, Milton
14. Boomer Morris, Barre
15. Shawn Fleury, Middlesex
16. Dave Whitcomb, Essex Junction
17. Joey Laquerre, East Montpelier
18. Trampas Demers, South Burlington
19. Eric Chase, Milton
20. Mike Bailey, South Barre
21. # Marcel J. Gravel, Wolcott
22. # Christopher Pelkey, South Barre
23. Josh Demers, Middlesex
24. # Richard Lowery III, Charlotte
25. Scott Coburn, Barre
26. John Donahue, Graniteville
27. Adam Pierson, East Corinth
28. Jason Allen, Barre
29. Darrell Morin, Westford
30. # Mike Foster, Williston


Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman (2 x 25 laps)
1. Mike Martin, Craftsbury – 6 pts
2. Stephen Donahue, Graniteville – 7 pts
3. Brendan Moodie, Wolcott – 8 pts
4. Jason Woodard, Waterbury Center – 9 pts
5. Eric Johnson, Randolph Center – 10 pts
6. Tommy Smith, Williamstown – 11 pts
7. Cameron Ouellette, Barre – 13 pts
8. Mark Barnier, Essex Junction – 14 pts
9. Joe Steffen, Grand Isle – 17 pts
10. Doug Crowningshield, Barre – 21 pts

Allen Lumber Street Stocks (25 laps)
1. Will Hennequin, Morrisville
2. # Brandon Lanphear, Morrisville
3. Jamon Perry, Hardwick
4. # Cooper Bouchard, Hinesburg
5. Tyler Austin East Calais
6. Thomas Merchant, Eden Mills
7. Al Maynard, Fairfax
8. Matthew Smith, Essex Junction
9. Gary Mullen, Tunbridge
10. Reilly Lanphear, Duxbury

PHOTO: Nick Sweet (#88), seen here earlier in the season racing Scott Dragon (#16), earned a “plus-nine” in his heat race and was set to start on the pole position in the VP Racing Fuels Vermont Governor’s Cup 150 until a powerful thunder storm, and subsequent power outage, forced officials to postpone the event. (Alan Ward photo)