Takes control of SCoNE Triple Crown standings

WEST HAVEN – Jake Williams performed a clean sweep on Sunday night at the Dirt Track at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

The Center Tuftonboro, N.H. driver won his heat race, the CMD Logging Dash-for-Cash, and the 30-lap Sprint Cars of New England feature event during the WhistlePig Straight Rye Whiskey “Firecracker” Independence Day event.

Williams ran his way from a tenth place starting spot to earn the win, but it was not without a tough challenge from 21-year-old Bobby Hackel in the closing laps.

Hackel, of Rennselaer, N.Y., navigated his way from a 19th place starting spot to pull next to Williams in the final laps of the race. Williams, however, was able to hold off Hackel for the win.

Tyler Austin of West Fairlee, Vt., finished third after he led the race early in the event while multi-time champion Chris Donnelly of Piermont, N.H. finished fourth. Luke Greenwood of Hudson, N.H. completed the top-five finishers.

Triple Crown opening race winner Dan Douville battled back from an early race incident to finish sixth while Will Hull finished seventh. Rookies Chad Turck and Richie Simmons were eighth and ninth with Chris Clark rounding out the top-ten finishers.

Following his win, Williams took control of the top spot in the Sprint Cars of New England Triple Crown event after his fourth place finish at Bear Ridge Speedway on Saturday night. Williams sits one point ahead of Donnelly, who finished second at Bear Ridge.

Clay Dow and Lacey Hanson both walked away from a wild two-car flip in their respective qualifying race while Kevin Chaffee did the same after a flip in the feature event.

Defending Triple Crown champion Douville sits third with seven points, while Greenwood sits in fourth with 11 points. Hull is fifth with 12 points.

Austin (13), Simmons (17), Turck (20), and Chaffee (21) sits sixth through ninth while Mike Chaffee and Matt Hoyt sit tied for tenth.

The Sprint Cars of New England Triple Crown will conclude on Friday night, August 5 at Legion Speedway after their opening event was rained out. The Sprint Cars of New England will return to the Dirt Track at Devil’s Bowl Speedway for their next event on Sunday, July 10.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – WhistlePig Whiskey Firecracker 30
Sprint Cars of New England
Dirt Track at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, Vt.
Sunday, July 3, 2016

(# — denotes rookie)

1. (10) Jake Williams, Center Tuftonboro, N.H.
2. (19) Bobby Hackel, Rensselaer, N.Y.
3. (8) Tyler Austin, West Fairlee, Vt.
4. (13) Chris Donnelly, Piermont, N.H.
5. (18) Luke Greenwood, Hudson, N.H.
6. (14) Dan Douville, Bridgewater, N.H.
7. (11) Will Hull, Pittsfield, Vt.
8. (5) # Chad Turck, Pittsfield, N.H.
9. (7) # Richie Simmons, Bradford, Vt.
10. (3) Chris Clark, Vershire, Vt.
11. (2) Patrick Smith, East Andover, N.H.
12. (17) Steve Hutchinson, Goffstown, N.H.
13. (1) Lauren Boisvert, Danbury, N.H.
14. (15) # Marty Hutchins, Poultney, Vt.
15. (6) # Mike Chaffee, Corinth, Vt.
16. (4) Christine Boesch, Concord, N.H.
17. (9) # Matt Hoyt, Campton, N.H.
18. (12) Kevin Chaffee, Fairlee, Vt.
19. (16) Dennis McLeod, Concord, N.H.

Did Not Start: Clay Dow, Barnstead, N.H.; Lacey Hanson, Orwell, Vt.

Sprint Cars of New England Triple Crown Standings (After 2 of 3 events)
1. Jake Williams – 5 pts
2. Chris Donnelly – 6 pts
3. Dan Douville – 7 pts
4. Luke Greenwood – 11 pts
5. Will Hull – 12 pts
6. Tyler Austin – 13 pts
7. Richie Simmons – 17 pts
8. Chad Turck – 20 pts
9. Kevin Chaffee – 21 pts
10. Mike Chaffee – 24 pts
— Matt Hoyt – 24 pts

PHOTO: Sprint Cars of New England winner Jake Williams (#73) of Center Tuftonboro, N.H., (shown with WhistlePig Whiskey representative Larry Swanson in victory lane) at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. (Devil’s Bowl Speedway photo)