VALLEE-JONCTION, Quebec – Patrick Laperle was both lucky and good on Saturday night at Autodrome Chaudiere.

The St-Denis, Que. driver took advantage of late race contact between Donald Theetge and Alex Labbe to inherit the lead and run onto his 22nd career Serie ACT Quebec win.

That win puts him back into a tie on the all-times wins list with Theetge.

Labbe would rocket from a seventh place starting spot to first take the lead on lap seven and only surrendered it following a lap 30 restart for one lap to Jonathan Bouvrette until lap 79.

A restart on that lap would give Theetge the top spot after he battled back from an early race spin. Theetge would hold the top spot for five laps until a lap Laperle would grab the lead following a lap 82 caution flag. Laperle would give the lead back to Theetge following a lap 89 restart.

With 16 laps remaining, Labbe and Theetge would make contact which sent the No. 80 of Theetge around. Series officials would penalize Labbe for his involvement in the incident, which handed Laperle the top spot.

Laperle would control the lead to grab his third win of the season.

Bouvrette, of Blainville, Que., finished second while Jean-Francois Dery of Quebec, Que. raced back from an early race penalty to finish third. Martin Goulet Jr. of Mascouche, Que. and hometown driver Marco BIlodeau completed the top-five finishers.

Theetge and Labbe fought back to finish sixth and eighth, respectively, with defending series champion Dany Trepanier sandwiched between the two in seventh. Clade Leclerc and Phillippe Poulin finished ninth and tenth, respectively.

Unofficially, Laperle extended his point lead by nine points over Theetge, which now sits at 28 points. Third place point driver Trepanier saw his deficit grow larger to sit at 65 points, while Bouvrette sits in fourth, 83 points back of Laperle. Dery sits in fifth, just one point shy of Bouvrette.

Serie ACT will run a 100-lap event on Saturday, August 13 at Autodrome Montmagny.

Serie ACT Quebec Viau Ford
Autodrome Chaudiere, Vallee-Jonction, Que.
Saturday, August 6, 2016


1. (12) Patrick Laperle, St-Denis, Que.
2. (4) Jonathan Bouvrette, Blainville, Que.
3. (11) Jean-Francois Dery, Quebec, Que.
4. (6) Martin Goulet Jr., Mascouche, Que.
5. (5) Marco Bilodeau, Vallee-Jonction, Que.
6. (10) Donald Theetbe, Boischatel, Que.
7. (9) Dany Trepanier, St-Edouard, Que.
8. (7) Alex Labbe, St-Albert, Que.
9. (14) Claude Leclerc, Lanoarie, Que.
10. (1) Phillippe Poulin, Beauce, Que.
11. (8) Marc-Andre Cliché, Beauce, Que.
12. (19) Simon Roussin, Quebec, Que.
13. (18) Carl Poulin, East Broughton, Que.
14. (17) Jean Bilodeau, Valee-Jonction, Que.
15. (3) Patrick Boyer, Quebec, Que.
16. (2) Jean-Pierre Ouimet, Terrebonne, Que.
17. (15) Michael Lavoie, Saguenay, Que.
18. (16) Jacques Poulin, East Broughton, Que.
19. (20) Daniel Bergeron, Mirabel, Que.
20. (13) Leo Poirier, Ottawa, Ont.
Did Not Start: Gaetan Longtin, Chateauguay, Que.

PHOTO: Patrick Laperle claimed his 22nd career Serie ACT win on Saturday night at Autodrome Chaudiere. (Guy Laroche photo)