BRADFORD – Ryan Christian grabbed his first DIRTcar Sportsman Modified win of the season on Saturday night at Bear Ridge Speedway while Michael Danforth claimed the overall win in the John Poor Memorial Sportsman Coupe Madness event.

Christian took the lead from freshman Bear Ridge Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modified driver Trevor Rocke on lap 23 and held on to the top spot through a lap 27 restart.

However, the Canaan, N.H. driver would be forced to battle for the top spot with Woodsville, N.H. driver Derek Graham. Graham would sneak past for one lap inside the final ten laps of the race, but Christian fought back and claimed the win in the Walker Motor Sales 40-lap feature.

Graham settled for second while Canaan, N.H.’s Rocke finished third. Sharon’s D.J. Robinson and White River Junction’s Josh Sunn completed the top-five finishers while sixth through tenth went to Josh Currier, T.C. Forward, Matt Lashua, Robert Tucker, and James Fadden.

Danforth posted the lowest cumulative score in the three-segment Madness event.

The Corinth driver rode the overall win on the tails of his final segment victory.

Hometown driver Jason Horniak finished second with Matt Ellsworth third. Former division champion Jason Colbeth was fourth with segment one winner Thomas Placey fifth overall. Josh Harrington, rookie Chris LaForest, second segment winner Earl Maxham, Brian Chaffee, and Todd Hayward completed the top-ten overall finishers.

Sprint Cars of New England ace Will Hull claimed the win in the 20-lap Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Model feature.

The Plainfield driver piloted the John Neddo-owned ride to the win over multi-time race winner Tim Martin. Derrick Stearns finished third with Don Reynolds and Wayland Childs fourth and fifth.

Danny Doyle of Rochester won the 20-lap Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinder feature over Mike Ryan, Charlie Lakin, Jonathon Baker, and Jim Durkee.

Tanner Siemons won the 20-lap 500cc Granite State Mini Sprint feature while John Scarborough claimed the win in the 600cc Granite State Mini Sprint feature.

Bear Ridge continues its 49th season of stock car racing on Saturday, August 13 with Swenson Insurance Agency night. Post time is 6:00pm.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Walker Motor Sales John Poor Memorial
Bear Ridge Speedway, Bradford, Vt.
Saturday, August 6, 2016

(# — denotes rookie)

Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds (40 laps)
1. Ryan Christian, Canaan, N.H.
2. Derek Graham, Woodsville, N.H.
3. # Trevor Rocke, Canaan, N.H.
4. D.J. Robinson, Sharon
5. Josh Sunn, White River Junction
6. Josh Currier, Newport, N.H.
7. T.C. Forward, Lyme, N.H.
8. # Matt Lashua, Canaan, N.H.
9. Robert Tucker, East Topsham
10. # James Fadden, Plainfield, N.H.

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe (3 x 25 laps)
1. Michael Danforth, Corinth
2. Jason Horniak, Bradford
3. Matt Ellsworth, Corinth
4. Jason Colbeth, Newbury
5. Thomas Placey, Bradford
6. Josh Harrington, Topsham
7. # Chris LaForest, Barre
8. Earl Maxham, Enfield, N.H.
9. Brian Chaffee, Bradford
10. Todd Hayward, Bradford

Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models (20 laps)
1. Will Hull, Plainfield
2. Tim Martin, White River Junction
3. Derrick Stearns, Bradford
4. Don Reynolds, Springfield
5. # Wayland Childs, Chelsea

Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinders (20 laps)
1. Danny Doyle, Rochester
2. Mike Ryan, Vershire
3. Charlie Lakin, Groton
4. Jonathon Baker, Plymouth, N.H.
5. Jim Durkee, Hartford

500cc Granite State Mini Sprints (20 laps)
1. Tanner Siemons, Orford, N.H.
2. Sean Beinhaur, Concord, N.H.
3. Thomas Chaffee, Orange

600cc Granite State Mini Sprints (20 laps)
1. John Scarborough, Bomoseen
2. John Mills, Wakefield, R.I.
3. Sean Beinhaur, Concord, N.H.

PHOTO: Ryan Christian carried his first Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modified checkered flag of the season on Saturday night at Bear Ridge Speedway. (Alan Ward photo)