Martin continues Limited Late Model dominance

BRADFORD – Adam Pierson continued his dominance on Saturday night at Bear Ridge Speedway.

The East Corinth driver claimed wins in both the Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds and the Laquerre’s Sport USAC Dirt Midget Association feature events.

In the 50-lap Sportsman Modified feature, Pierson would navigate his way from a rear-of-the-field starting spot to the lead by lap 43. The East Corinth driver would work his way past Sharon’s D.J. Robinson and to his seventh win of the season.

Robinson held on for second while Bradford’s Kevin Chaffee finished third. New Hampshire drivers Trevor Rocke and Todd Buckwold were fourth and fifth while Gary Siemons, Robert Tucker, Terry Williams, Ryan Christian, and T.C. Forward completed the top-ten finishers.

In the 25-lap USAC Dirt Midget Association feature, Pierson would pilot his Frank Manafort-owed No. 76m ride from the back of the pack and into the lead on lap 18. The win for Pierson was his fourth of the season in Midget competition at Bear Ridge.

Pierson’s teammate, Josh Sunn of White River Junction, moved with Pierson through the field and finished second. Tucker of East Topsham finished third with Connecticut’s Dean Christensen and Ray Miller completed the top-five.

Sixth through tenth was scored as Jeff Horn, Dylan Duhaime, Kenney Johnson, Jeff Champagne, and Adam Whitney.

Brian Chaffee grabbed his first win of the season in the 40-lap Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe feature.

The Bradford driver worked past multi-time champion Josh Harrington for the lead on lap 36 and never looked back. Harrington, of Topsham, held on for second while hometown driver Jason Horniak completed the podium.

Buster Kathan, defending champion Bob Shepard, Todd Hayward, Jason Colbeth, Michael Danforth, Thomas Placey, and Matt Ellsworth completed the top-five finishers.

Tim Martin of White River Junction grabbed his eighth win in the 25-lap Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Model feature. Martin would finish ahead of Wayland Childs, Derrick Stearns, Don Reynolds, and Bryan Campbell.

Danny Doyle won the 20-lap Weglarz Property Service Four Cylinder feature. The remainder of the top-five finishers were not available at press time.

Bear Ridge Speedway will host the Sprint Cars of New England and Granite State Mini Sprints on Interstate Batteries of Newmont night on Saturday, July 23. Post time is set for 6:00pm.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Shirley & Mickey Bruleigh Memorial Mid-Season Championships
Bear Ridge Speedway, Bradford, Vt.
Saturday, July 16, 2016


Sabil & Sons DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds (50 laps)
1. Adam Pierson, East Corinth
2. D.J. Robinson, Sharon
3. Kevin Chaffee, Bradford
4. Trevor Rocke, Canaan, N.H.
5. Todd Buckwold, Orange, N.H.
6. Gary Siemons, Orford, N.H.
7. Robert Tucker, East Topsham
8. Terry Williams, Wells River
9. Ryan Christian, Canaan, N.H.
10. T.C. Forward, Lyme, N.H.

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupes (40 laps)
1. Brian Chaffee, Bradford
2. Josh Harrington, Topsham
3. Jason Horniak, Bradford
4. Buster Kathan, Ludlow
5. Bob Shepard, West Topsham
6. Todd Hayward, Bradford
7. Jason Colbeth, Newbury
8. Michael Danforth, Corinth
9. Thomas Placey, Bradford
10. Matt Ellsworth, Corinth

Laquerre’s Sport USAC Dirt Midget Association (25 laps)
1. Adam Pierson, East Corinth
2. Josh Sunn, White River Junction
3. Robert Tucker, East Topsham
4. Dean Christensen, Granby, Conn.
5. Ray Miller, East Granby, Conn.
6. Jeff Horn, Ashland, Mass.
7. Dylan Duhaime, Loudon, N.H.
8. Kenney Johnson, Bethany, Conn.
9. Jeff Champagne, Westfield, Mass.
10. Adam Whitney, Warren

Mike Rivers Automotive Limited Late Models (20 laps)
1. Tim Martin, White River Junction
2. Wayland Childs, Chelsea
3. Derrick Stearns, Piermont, N.H.
4. Don Reynolds, Springfield
5. Bryan Campbell, Barre, Vt.

PHOTO: Adam Pierson celebrates his seventh Sportsman Modified win with some young fans on Saturday night at Bear Ridge Speedway. (Alan Ward photo)