–by T.J. Ingerson (@TJIngerson)
VMM Editor

NEWTON, N.C. – Ben Rowe dominated the Pro All Stars Series South Super Late Model Easter Bunny 150 on Saturday at Hickory Motor Speedway, unofficially leading 119 laps for his tenth career series win.

The win for the Turner, Maine driver also locks him into a guaranteed starting spot for the 2016 Oxford 250.

Rowe’s only challenger for the lead came in the form perhaps his closest competitor – his teammate and father, Mike. The two Rowes would trade the lead three times before Ben took it for keeps on lap 41.

Rowe would maintain the lead through multiple restarts which saw challengers include Trey Jarrell and Riley Herbst. The two would be able to pressure Rowe initially before the veteran driver pulled away to comfortable lead.

“It was definitely not easy,” Rowe said to series announcer Alan Dietz of being out in the lead. “I was just trying to set my own pace. (Herbst) did a great job. I was worried about him. He kept getting in behind me and was giving me all I wanted there.

“What better way to travel 17 hours back home.”

The win for Rowe was his second in the Easter Bunny 150 event at Hickory.

“This win is huge. This is the Easter Bunny,” Rowe said. “I won this a while back and that trophy is still in my house. That’s where this one is going because it is a cool trophy.

“There is 42 cars here and this is a tough place. This thing was just flawless. After about four or five laps, it was just easy to drive.”

Seventeen-year-old Herbst, of Las Vegas, Nev., finished second to Rowe and earned his first career PASS Super Late Model top-five finish. Worcester, Mass., driver Derek Ramstrom finished third while Jody Measamer of Sanford, N.C., used his time trial winning speed to pilot to a fourth place finish. Tamworth, N.H., driver Jeremy Davis navigated his way from a 14th place starting spot to finish fifth.

Maine driver Mike Hopkins worked his way from a 21st place starting spot to finish sixth while New Mexico native Tanner Gray finished seventh. Jarrell fell back to eighth late in the race while Tate Fogleman battled back from early race issues to finish ninth. Connecticut driver John Michael Shenette completed the top-ten finishers.

The PASS National point counting race was broadcasted live on Speed51.com. The next point counting PASS National event will take place in the PASS North opener on Sunday, April 10 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.

Pro All Stars Series – Hickory Motor Speedway, Newton, N.C.
Saturday, March 26, 2016


  1. (1) Ben Rowe, Turner, Maine
  2. (5) Riley Herbst, Las Vegas, Nev.
  3. (10) Derek Ramstrom, Worcester, Mass.
  4. (7) Jody Measamer, Sanford, N.C.
  5. (14) Jeremy Davis, Tamworth, N.H.
  6. (21) Mike Hopkins, Hermon, Maine
  7. (13) Tanner Gray, Artesia, N.M.
  8. (6) Trey Jarrell, Martinsville, Va.
  9. (24) Tate Fogleman, Durham, N.C.
  10. (32) John Michael Shenette, Thompson, Conn.
  11. (30) Travis Stearns, Auburn, Maine
  12. (27) Kodie Conner, Kannapolis, N.C.
  13. (33) J.P. Josiasse, Ennismore, Ont.
  14. (26) Matt Craig, Kannapolis, N.C.
  15. (17) Josh Williams, Port Charlotte, Fla.
  16. (31) Kyle Desouza, Fairhaven, Mass.
  17. (4) Roger Lee Newton, Concord, N.C.
  18. (22) Shane Lee, Newton, N.C.
  19. (15) A.J. Frank, Bluffton, S.C.
  20. (18) Preston Peltier, Harrisburg, N.C.
  21. (3) D.J. Shaw, Center Conway, N.H.
  22. (2) Mike Rowe, Turner, Maine
  23. (19) Travis Benjamin, Morrill, Maine
  24. (28) Joey Doiron, Berwick, Maine
  25. (11) Trevor Noles, Fuquay Varina, N.C.
  26. (12) Chris Dilbeck, Hampton, Ga.
  27. (25) Joey Padgett, Tallahassee, Fla.
  28. (20) Tracy Gordon, Strong, Maine
  29. (34) Jimmy Doyle, Hendersonville, N.C.
  30. (9) Brandon Setzer, Newton, N.C.
  31. (16) Derek Scott Jr., Franklin, Tenn.
  32. (23) Gus Dean, Mooresville, N.C.
  33. (29) Jody Lavender, Hartsville, S.C.
  34. (8) Cale Gale, Mobile, Ala.

PHOTO: Ben Rowe celebrates his Easter Bunny 150 win on Saturday evening at Hickory Motor Speedway. (Pro All Stars Series provided photo)