Dominating Performance Nets Second Career ACT Late Model Win

–by T.J. Ingerson (@TJIngerson)
VMM Editor

OXFORD, Maine – Bobby Therrien returned to the ACT Late Model Tour in July last year at Oxford Plains Speedway and posted an out-of-nowhere podium finish after a disappointing sophomore season. On Sunday, the Hinesburg, Vt. driver backed up another out-of-nowhere finish – a dominating win at Speedway 51 in the season finale Fall Brawl – with another dominating performance.

Therrien took the lead on lap 49 of the Husqvarna/Dave’s Small Engine Repair 100 and scored his second career ACT Late Model Tour win. Therrien’s only challenge came when a late race caution flag erased a comfortable lead, but he held on through two ensuing restarts to capture the win.

“Damn, this feels good,” Therrien said in victory lane. “I love driving them when they’re this good. We picked up right where we left off at last year Speedway 51.”

Therrien admitted his No. 5 Subway/FastOneMotorsports Chevrolet was not good when the team unloaded it for the first practice, but the Pete Duto-led team worked hard to make it a near-perfect ride.

“When we unloaded this morning, we weren’t that great,” Therrien said. “The guys busted their butts all day to get us here now. That was awesome.”

Rowland Robinson Jr. of Steuben, Maine posted a career-best finish in his fifth season of full-time ACT Late Model Tour competition by finishing second to Therrien. The Steuben, Maine driver led 14 laps after he took the lead from defending ACT Late Model Tour champion Wayne Helliwell Jr. through the early-mid part of the event and surrendered it back to Helliwell following a lap 44 restart.

“We’ve struggled everywhere for the last couple of years, really,” Robinson said in victory lane. “We put in a lot of work this winter and it’s starting to pay off.”

Eddie MacDonald, fresh off of a eighth place finish at Bristol Motor Speedway in NASCAR K&N Pro Series East competition that left his No. 17 Exit Realty/Hancock Electric team with limited practice, finished third. The Rowley, Mass. Driver had navigated his way from a 16th place starting spot, but admitted in victory lane that he burned up his tires in his charge and had nothing left for Therrien during the races’ final restart.

Helliwell, of Dover, N.H. finished fourth after he set the pace early on in the 100-lap race while Milton, Vt. driver Scott Dragon piloted his No. 16 Richard Green Racing car from a 17th place starting spot to a fifth place finish.

Jimmy Hebert, Quinny Welch, Connecticut driver Raymond Christian, polesitter Brad Babb, and Brandon Atkins completed the top-ten finishers.

Heat race wins went to Nick Sweet, Ryan Olsen, Mike Ziter, and Hebert. Consolation races were won by Scott Payea and Kyle Welch. The race took just under 48 minutes to run and was slowed four times by cautions.

The ACT Late Model Tour will run its second race of the season on Sunday, April 24 at Lee USA Speedway for the New Hampshire Governor’s Cup 150.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Husqvarna/Dave’s Small Engine Repair 100
ACT Late Model Tour – Oxford Plains Speedway, Oxford, Maine
Sunday, April 17, 2016


1. (6) Bobby Therrien, Hinesburg, Vt.
2. (9) Rowland Robinson Jr., Steuben, Maine
3. (16) Eddie MacDonald, Rowley, Mass.
4. (2) Wayne Helliwell Jr., Dover, N.H.
5. (17) Scott Dragon, Milton, Vt.
6. (13) Jimmy Hebert, Williamstown, Vt.
7. (15) Quinny Welch, Lancaster, N.H.
8. (24) Raymond Christian, Norwich, Conn.
9. (1) Brad Babb, Windham, Maine
10. (8) Brandon Atkins, AuSable Forks, N.Y.
11. (11) Nick Sweet, Barre, Vt.
12. (4) Dillon Moltz, Waterford, Conn.
13. (10) Emily Packard, East Montpelier, Vt.
14. (5) Kyle Welch, Newport, N.H.
15. (33) Corey Mason, Groveton, N.H.
16. (19) Rich Dubeau, Lebanon, N.H.
17. (26) Bobby Pelland, Cranston, R.I.
18. (31) Matt Anderson, Franklin, N.H.
19. (7) Scott Payea, Milton, Vt.
20. (25) Shawn Swallow, Stark, N.H.
22. (22) Claude Leclerc, Lanoarie, Que.
22. (21) Dany Trepanier, St-Edouard, Que.
23. (3) Mike Ziter, Barre, Vt.
24. (29) Mark Jenison, Warwick, R.I.
25. (30) Oren Remick, Warner, N.H.
26. (12) Ryan Olsen, North Haverhill, N.H.
27. (28) Bryan Mason, Stark, N.H.
28. (32) Mark Hudson, Norton, Mass.
29. (27) Devin O’Connell, Madison, Conn.
30. (18) Jonathan Bovurette, Blainville, Que.
31. (14) Boomer Morris, Barre, Vt.
32. (20) Miles Chipman, Nottingham, N.H.
33. (23) Dave Farrington Jr., Jay, Maine

PHOTO: Bobby Therrien celebrates his second career ACT Late Model Tour win on Sunday afternoon at Oxford Plains Speedway in the Husqvarna/Dave’s Small Engine Repair 100. (Alan Ward photo)