PHOTO: Patrice McGrail scored his second consecutive DIRTcar Modified feature win Saturday night at Airborne Speedway. (Ricky St/Clair/VMM photo)

–by Ricky St. Clair

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. — Patrice McGrail survived an attrition-filled DIRTcar Modified feature that included four cautions and one red flag period to grab his second consecutive win Saturday night at Airborne Speedway.

The Candiac, Que., native took advantage of his fourth-place starting position in the 22-car field and overtook early race leader Pierre Berthiaume for the top spot following a lap eight restart.

McGrail successfully fended off the likes of Vince Quenneville Jr., Aaron Bartemy, and Patrick Dupree on the ensuing restart with six-laps remaining to pick up his second career Modified win at the Plattsburgh half-mile.

“The car was so good early in the race,” McGrail stated in victory lane following the win. “We’re very happy to pick up our second win in a row. The handicap will come into effect next week, so we’ll have to start mid-pack. I’m 51-years-old, but with the way things are going, I think I’ll continue to race one more year.”

Quenneville of Brandon, Vt., finished in the runner-up spot after the 32 minute and 14 second marathon had concluded. New York racers Bartemy, Dupree, and Chris Cayea rounded out the unofficial top-five finishers. Leon Gonyo, Todd Stone, Andy Heywood, Max Viens, and Mike Reyell earned top-10 honors.

Jessey Mueller appeared to be the apparent winner of the 20-lap Sportsman Modified race before technical inspection ruled a tire infraction giving Plattsburgh, N.Y., driver Jake Branham the official victory.

Branham was followed on the podium by Sebastien Fournier of St-Leonard, Que., and Peru, N.Y., competitor Travis Bruno. Lonnie Rivers and Jamie LaFountain finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Twenty-year-old Jason McClatchie of Plattsburgh, N.Y., went wire-to-wire en route to his third Renegade win of 2012 in the 25-lap feature event. After two caution periods on laps four and eight, McClatchie watched Rick Doner and Fairfax, Vt., driver Kevin Boutin slug it out for the runner-up spot in his rear view mirror during the last 15-laps of the race.

McClatchie’s 4.072-second win differential was largest all year for the ultra-competitive Renegade class. Doner and Boutin finished second and third while Joe Warren and Fairfax, Vt., driver Lance Rabtoy concluded the top-five finishers.

Josh LeClaire returned to Airborne following a suspension and did so in convincing fashion after winning the 15-lap Mini-Modified feature. The teenager topped point leader Erick Sayles of Gabriels, N.Y., and Peru, N.Y., wheelman Josh LaPorte.

Weekly racing continues next Saturday at Airborne presented by Aird Dorrance. Post time is slated for 6 p.m.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — Culligan Water Technologies/Furniture World of Vermont/Della Auto Group/TDI Repair Night
Airborne Speedway, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
Saturday, July 7, 2012


DIRTcar Modifieds (30 laps)
1. Patrice McGrail, Candiac, Que.
2. Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon
3. Aaron Bartemy, Champlain, N.Y.
4. Patrick Dupree, Saranac Lake, N.Y.
5. Chris Cayea, Mooers Forks, N.Y.
6. Leon Gonyo, Chazy, N.Y.
7. Todd Stone, Middlebury, Vt.
8. Andy Heywood, Morrisonville, N.Y.
9. Maxime Viens, St-Cesaire, Que.
10. Mike Reyell, West Chazy, N.Y.

Sportsman Modifieds (20 laps)
1. Jake Branham, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
2. Sebastien Fournier, St-Leonard, Que.
3. Travis Bruno, Morrisonville, N.Y.
4. Lonnie Rivers, Cadyville, N.Y.
5. Jamie LaFountain, Keeseville, N.Y.

Renegades (25 laps)
1. Jason McClatchie, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
2. Rick Doner, Clintonville, N.Y.
3. Kevin Boutin, Fairfax, Vt.
4. Joe Warren, West Chazy, N.Y.
5. Lance Rabtoy, Fairfax, Vt.
6. Robert Gordon, Milton, Vt.
7. Ryan Boutin, Fairfax, Vt.
8. Andrew Bordeau, Dannemora, N.Y.
9. Josh Terry, Essex, N.Y.
10. Don Franklin, Milton, Vt.

Mini-Modifieds (15 laps)
1. Josh LeClaire, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
2. Erick Sayles, Lake Clear, N.Y.
3. Josh LaPorte, Peru, N.Y.
4. Eric Reyell, Morrisonville, N.Y.
5. Josh Bradley, Plattsburgh, N.Y.