PHOTO: Jamy Begor celebrates his Limited Late Model feature win at Airborne Speedway Saturday night. (Photo courtesy of Dave Brown/Airborne Speedway)

Foley, McClatchie go back-to-back; Branham inherits Sportsman Modified feature win

–by Ricky St. Clair

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. — Jamy Begor will be the first to tell you that Saturday night’s 25-lap Limited Late Model feature at Airborne Speedway had no shortage of drama.

With two-laps remaining, the race featured a three-car battle for the top spot with the likes of point leader Bucko Branham and Shawn Duquette side-by-side for the lead with Begor tucked in line behind Branham’s back bumper.

Significant contact between Branham and Duquette coming off the exit of turn four sent Branham’s No. 20 machine up the racetrack when Begor then filled the hole on the bottom. Branham slipped across Begor’s front bumper, which sent the 28-year racing veteran through the infield and the Airborne fans into a frenzy.

Begor retained his position as the leader following the incident and held on for his second checkered flag of 2012.

“Bucko drove in quite deep into Duquette and they made a little contact, which left me a hole down low,” Begor recalled. “I guess when Bucko realized I was there, he figured he’d better get back to the bottom. We had way too much racecar on the inside of him to let him back in, so he took a chance that he shouldn’t of, which landed himself in the infield.”

In his 16 years of stock car racing experience, Begor stated it was not only his most exciting victory to date, but the most thrilling, too.

“Here we are taching 6,000 RPM’s and usually you can’t hear anything but your motor, and all I could hear is fans,” Begor said. “Anytime we get a win in front of these fans who are just as excited as I am lately, it’s good for the sponsors and crew. The car wasn’t too good in the last two-laps, but we just held off and survived it.”

Duquette escaped the carnage by collecting a second-place finish with Clintonville competitor Keith Pelkey charging out of the back of the field for third. Dave Rabtoy of Fairfax, Vt., and AuSable Forks shoe Brandon Atkins earned top-five honors.

George Foley endured an attrition-filled Modified feature that included three red flags before the 30-lap event could be completed.

Foley solidified himself in the first position after race leaders Mike Reyell and Todd Ormsby got tangled off the exit of turn two after one-third of the event was completed.

The Vermontville native behind the wheel of the Loreman’s/Egglefield Ford No. 34 powered his way to the checkered flag for the third time this season.

“You can tell we rained out last week,” Foley said. “I pushed the car toward the end a little more than I would have liked to because I knew the No. 24 (Patrick Dupree) was back there.”

Dupree initially finished second, but failed post-race inspection for a “tire infraction.” Greg Atkins inherited the runner-up spot with Matt Woodruff claiming his season-best finish in third.

The remainder of the top-five finishers included Mooers Forks driver Chris Cayea and wily veteran Leon Gonyo of Chazy. Positions six through ten went to Todd Stone, Jason Durgan, Pierre Berthiaume, Kris Vernold, and Jessey Mueller.

Jason McClatchie went back-to-back in consecutive weeks after claiming Saturday’s 25-lap Renegade shootout by wrestling the race lead from “Big Daddy” Don Franklin following an entertaining six-lap side-by-side battle for the win.

The 20-year-old Plattsburgh resident fended off Franklin for the remaining seven-laps of the event en route to his third career feature win in the ultra-competitive support division.

Franklin finished second with Dannemora’s Andrew Bordeau rounding out the podium finishers. Josh Terry, who returned to the racetrack from CVPH after an accident in the pits, finished fourth. Rick Doner completed the top-five.

Sebastien Fournier of St-Leonard, Que., was the apparent winner of the Sportsman Modified feature, but failed post-race technical inspection, which gave Jake Branham his first career win in the new weekly division at Airborne.

Chris Sousie was second and Jimmy Introne Jr., ended up third. The 20-lap feature event took 43 minutes and 28 seconds to complete.

Erick Sayles continued his dominance in the entry-level four-cylinder division by grabbing the checkers in the 15-lap Mini-Modified feature. Josh LeClaire and Michael Whalen Jr., were second and third, respectively.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — Speedway Illustrated Night
Airborne Speedway, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
Saturday, June 9, 2012


Ernie’s Discount Tools Modifieds (30 laps)
1. George Foley, Vermontville, N.Y.
2. Greg Atkins, Clintonville, N.Y.
3. Matt Woodruff, Bloomingdale, N.Y.
4. Chris Cayea, Mooers Forks, N.Y.
5. Leon Gonyo, Chazy, N.Y.
6. Todd Stone, Middlebury, Vt.
7. Jason Durgan, Morrisonville, N.Y.
8. Pierre Berthiaume, Joliette, Que.
9. Kris Vernold, Kingsbury, N.Y.
10. Jessey Mueller, Olmstedville, N.Y.

Adirondack Water Systems Sportsman Modifieds (20 laps)
1. Jake Branham, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
2. Chris Sousie, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
3. Jimmy Introne Jr., Granville, N.Y.
4. Joe Daniels, Saranac, N.Y.
5. JohnMichael Bresette, Keeseville, N.Y.

J&S Steel Limited Late Models (25 laps)
1. Jamy Begor, Mooers, N.Y.
2. Shawn Duquette, Morrisonville, N.Y.
3. Keith Pelkey, Clintonville, N.Y.
4. Dave Rabtoy, Fairfax, Vt.
5. Brandon Atkins, AuSable Forks, N.Y.
6. Jamie Atkins, AuSable Forks, N.Y.
7. Steven Bresette, AuSable Forks, N.Y.
8. Brian McGinley, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
9. Fred Lagoy, Morrisonville, N.Y.
10. Jimmy Bushey, Mooers, N.Y.

Key-RD Trailer Sales Renegades (25 laps)
1. Jason McClatchie, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
2. Don Franklin, Milton, Vt.
3. Andrew Bordeau, Dannemora, N.Y.
4. Josh Terry, Essex, N.Y.
5. Rick Doner, Clintonville, N.Y.
6. Lance Rabtoy, Fairfax, Vt.
7. Tylor Terry, Morrisonville, N.Y.
8. Joe Warren, West Chazy, N.Y.
9. Kevin Boutin, Swanton, Vt.
10. Brian Criss, Plattsburgh, N.Y.

Keeseville NAPA Mini-Modifieds (15 laps)
1. Erick Sayles, Saranac Lake, N.Y.
2. Josh LeClaire, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
3. Michael Whalen Jr., Plattsburgh, N.Y.
4. Dale O’Neil, Mooers Forks, N.Y.
5. Josh LaPorte, Plattsburgh, N.Y.