PHOTO: Josh Terry held off his older brother Tylor to win the 25-lap Renegade feature at Airborne Speedway. (Ricky St.Clair/VMM photo)

–by Ricky St. Clair

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. — There’s no question that Josh Terry had been waiting for this opportunity since climbing behind the wheel of a stock car just a few short years ago.

The 17-year-old claimed Saturday night’s 25-lap Renegade feature at Airborne Speedway after a nine-lap see saw battle for the win with his older brother Tylor Terry.

Josh Terry emerged as a potential contender in the race after taking the lead from Tylor Terry on lap 17. The Essex, N.Y., resident was forced to fend off his sibling on two late restarts on laps 19 and 22, respectively.

“I anticipated clean racing with my brother, but I was also expecting a bump,” Josh Terry chuckled. “After that first caution on lap 16, the car just got better and better. I saw that Tylor was fast all day on the top, so I tried to take that lane away from him. I drove it as hard as could to get around him.”

Josh Terry became the fifth different winner in the ultra-competitive eight-cylinder Renegade division that features primarily Chevrolet Monte Carlo’s.

“There’s a number of drivers that can win on any given night,” Josh Terry said. “It only took the rookies five or six races to pick up the slack and run up front. This was such a hard-fought win. It’s gratifying.”

Joe Warren of West Chazy, N.Y., drove from 12th in the field to take the runner-up spot at the line. After a valiant attempt to pull even with his kid brother Josh, Tylor Terry salvaged a third place finish. Brian Criss of Plattsburgh, N.Y., and Milton driver Robert Gordon rounded out the top-five.

Lonnie Rivers of Cadyville, N.Y., picked up his second win of the season after going wire-to-wire in the 20-lap Sportsman Modified feature.

Rivers took advantage of his second-place starting position and jumped out to a sizable backstretch lead before a caution period slowed the field on lap 16 for a one-car incident.

With his victory, the former two-time Renegade track champion successfully cut into Nick Heywood’s point lead. Travis Bruno and Jamie LaFountain were the final two podium finishers. Sebastien Fournier and Heywood concluded the top-five.

It was all Bucko Branham of Plattsburgh, N.Y., in the always exciting 25-lap Limited Late Model feature.

The 28-year racing veteran slipped underneath Fred Lagoy for the lead on lap five and never looked back. Robin Wood and Jamy Begor raced within contention of Branham for the entire duration of the race, but we unable to make the pass.

The checkered flag marked Branham’s third victory of 2012 and will unofficially put him one-point ahead of Begor in the standings. Lagoy and Keith Pelkey rounded out the top-five.

CJ LaVair ended his struggles at Airborne by winning his first feature of the season in the lone extra-distance event on the racing calendar for the Mini-Modified. Jayson Criss of Plattsburgh continued his streak of consecutive podium finishes by taking second with Lake Clear, N.Y., competitor Erick Sayles third.

Weekly racing continues next Saturday at Airborne Speedway. Post time is scheduled for 6 p.m.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — TD Bank/Mold Rite Plastics/Northline Utilities Night
Airborne Speedway, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
Saturday, June 23, 2012


Sportsman Modifieds (20 laps)
1. Lonnie Rivers, Cadyville, N.Y.
2. Travis Bruno, Morrisonville, N.Y.
3. Jamie LaFountain, Keeseville, N.Y.
4. Sebastien Fournier, St-Leonard, Que.
5. Nick Heywood, Morrisonville, N.Y.

Limited Late Models (25 laps)
1. Bucko Branham, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
2. Robin Wood, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
3. Jamy Begor, Mooers Forks, N.Y.
4. Fred Lagoy, Morrisonville, N.Y.
5. Keith Pelkey, Clintonville, N.Y.
6. Dave Rabtoy, Fairfax, Vt.
7. Shawn Duquette, Morrisonville, N.Y.
8. Brandon Atkins, AuSable Forks, N.Y.
9. Jamie Atkins, AuSable Forks, N.Y.
10. Steven Bresette, Clintonville, N.Y.

Renegades (25 laps)
1. Josh Terry, Essex, N.Y.
2. Joe Warren, West Chazy, N.Y.
3. Tylor Terry, Morrisonville, N.Y.
4. Brian Criss, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
5. Robert Gordon, Milton, Vt.
6. Kevin Boutin, Swanton, Vt.
7. Jason McClatchie, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
8. Ryan Boutin, St. Albans, Vt.
9. Richie Turner, Fairfax, Vt.
10. Don Franklin, Milton, Vt.

Mini-Modifieds (25 laps)
1. CJ LaVair, Gabriels, N.Y.
2. Jayson Criss, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
3. Erick Sayles, Lake Clear, N.Y.