PHOTO: Todd Stone scored his first DIRTcar Modified win of the season at Airborne Speedway after being the most consistent runner all season long. (Ricky St. Clair/VMM photo)

Returns to asphalt victory lane after winless stream

–by Ricky St. Clair

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. — Todd Stone entered Saturday night’s racing program at Airborne Speedway as “Mr. Consistency” in the DIRTcar Modified division after earning a sixth-place average finish through six points counting events. However, the Middlebury native failed to grab the elusive checkered flag in all six starts.

It’s safe to say Stone snapped his winless streak in convincing fashion by solidifying himself in the lead with under 10-laps remaining after slicing through the field from his 14th starting position.

Stone, who slipped underneath Kris Vernold in turns one and two for the top spot, was forced to fend off two-time track champion Patrick Dupree in the closing stages of the 30-lap feature.

“I saw the scoreboard, but you’ve got to race your own race,” Stone said. “You can’t worry about who’s behind you, you’ve just got to look forward and do the best you can. When you start worrying about what driver is on your bumper, that’s when you make a mistake.”

When Stone began to check out on Dupree and Vernold, the G. Stone Motors No. 1x automobile appeared to be faster than any other point in the race.

“My crew worked really hard today getting this car going,” Stone said. “When we unloaded it, it was not very good. We worked all day on getting it going, so I give the credit to my crew.”

The former Late Model competitor at the Plattsburgh half-mile will look to carry the momentum into Wednesday night’s 75-lap $3,000-to-win DIRTcar Asphalt Modified Series opener.

“Well, we’re excited for the 75-lapper,” Stone said. “It’s 75 laps, so you’ve got to be there at the end to win it. You’re not going to win it on the first lap.”

Dupree’s automobile began to fade, which resulted in a second-place run for the Saranac Lake, N.Y., driver. Vernold battled to wind up as the final podium finisher. Aaron Bartemy and George Foley earned top-five honors.

Positions six through ten went to Andy Lindeman, Vince Quennville, Mike Wells, Adam Bartemy, and Chris Cayea.

Two-time and defending Limited Late Model champion Robin Wood of Plattsburgh, N.Y., collected his first win of the season in the 25-lap Limited Late Model feature.

Wood wrestled the race lead from Dave Rabtoy on lap four and survived five caution periods between laps seven and 19 en route to a dominating performance.

After an incident in last week’s feature, Bucko Branham and Jamy Begor raced side-by-side for consecutive laps without making contact to finish two-three. Rabtoy and Jamie Atkins rounded out the top-five.

Former two-time Renegade track champion Lonnie Rivers rebounded from a hard crash in turn one a week ago to successfully grab his first career Sportsman Modified win.

The Cadyville, N.Y., hotshoe jumped out to an early race lead after turning the fastest lap of the race on lap 6 at 17.199 seconds and had to keep three-time winner Nick Heywood on his back bumper.

Heywood had a solid point night by finish in second-place. Travis Bruno, who was also involved in the turn one tangle with Rivers last week, finished in third. Jamie LaFountain and Sebastien Fournier concluded the top-five.

Joe Warren proved to superstitious critics for the second time in 2012 that it’s not bad luck to own green on a race car.

Warren took advantage of his third-place starting position in the 21-car field and stole the lead from Robert Gordon on the bottom lane coming out of turn four on lap eight.

Gordon had to settle for another second-place finish. Tylor Terry, Lance Rabtoy, and Don Franklin completed the top-five.

Warren’s win put the West Chazy, N.Y., competitor second in the points standings just 22 markers behind two-time and defending champion Kevin Boutin.

Jayson Criss of Plattsburgh, N.Y., tallied yet another win in the 15-lap Bomber feature. Erick Sayles of Lake Clear, N.Y., and Josh LeClaire finished second and third, respectively.

Racing action at Airborne continues Wednesday night at 7 p.m. for the first of four races on the inaugural season of the DIRTcar Asphalt Modified Series. The 75-lap event will pay $3,000 to the winner.

Airborne Speedway, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
Saturday, June 16, 2012


Ernie’s Discount Tools Modifieds (30 laps)
1. Todd Stone, Middlebury, Vt.
2. Patrick Dupree, Saranac Lake, N.Y.
3. Kris Vernold, Kingsbury, N.Y.
4. Aaron Bartemy, Champlain, N.Y.
5. George Foley, Vermontville, N.Y.
6. Andy Lindeman, Poestenkill, N.Y.
7. Vince Quennville, Brandon, Vt.
8. Mike Wells, West Chazy, N.Y.
9. Adam Bartemy, Sheldon, Vt.
10. Chris Cayea, Mooers Forks, N.Y.

Adirondack Water Systems Sportsman Modifieds (20 laps)
1. Lonnie Rivers, Cadyville, N.Y.
2. Nick Heywood, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
3. Travis Bruno, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
4. Jamie LaFountain, Keeseville, N.Y.
5. Sebastien Fournier, St-Leonard, Que.

J&S Steel Limited Late Models (25 laps)
1. Robin Wood, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
2. Bucko Branham, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
3. Jamy Begor, Mooers, N.Y.
4. Dave Rabtoy, Fairfax, Vt.
5. Jamie Atkins, AuSable Forks, N.Y.
6. Brian McGinley, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
7. Danny Sullivan, Morrisonville, N.Y.
8. Brandon Atkins, AuSable Forks, N.Y.
9. Casey St. Clair, Plattsburgh. N.Y.
10. Steven Bresette, Keeseville, N.Y.

Key-RD Trailer Sales Renegades (25 laps)
1. Joe Warren, West Chazy, N.Y.
2. Robert Gordon, Milton, Vt.
3. Tylor Terry, Morrisonville, N.Y.
4. Lance Rabtoy, Fairfax, Vt.
5. Don Franklin, Milton, Vt.
6. Brian Criss, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
7. Kevin Boutin, Swanton, Vt.
8. Rick Doner, Clintonville, N.Y.
9. Robbie Favreau, Peru, N.Y.
10. Andrew Bordeau, Dannemora, N.Y.

Keeseville NAPA Mini-Modifieds (15 laps)
1. Jayson Criss, Plattsburgh, N.Y,
2. Erick Sayles, Lake Clear, N.Y.
3. Josh LeClaire, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
4. Josh LaPorte, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
5. John Bradley, Clintonville, N.Y.