PHOTO: Adam Pierson celebrated his seventh career Bear Ridge Speedway track title with a win in the New England Dirt Track Championships 50 on Saturday. (Alan Ward photo)

(From track press release)

Donnelly, Harrington, Stygles among track champions

BRADFORD — Adam Pierson put an exclamation point on his 2011 season by winning the second annual New England Dirt Track Championships at Bear Ridge Speedway on Saturday night in front of a packed house. Pierson capped his title-winning season in the DIRTcar Sportsman Modified division by winning the 50-lap season finale and pocketing the $1,000 winner’s purse.

By virtue of winning a special New England Dirt Track Championship qualifying race on July 16, the Fairlee driver started inside the top-six for the main event. After trailing Gary Pierson for several laps, Pierson took command before halfway and led to the end for his fifth victory of the season. The 27 year-old driver of the No. 15 CDR Concrete/Wing’s Market & Deli-sponsored Bicknell chassis clinched his seventh career championship last week.

Another former champion, Vince Quenneville, Jr., of Brandon, finished second in just his second start of the season. Chris Donnelly of Piermont, N.H., was third ahead of Siemons and Jason Gray. Kevin Chaffee, Justin Comes, rookie Josh Sunn, Dan Eastman, and Jim Morgan completed the unofficial top ten.

Donnelly clinched his first Bear Ridge Speedway track championship in the Sprint Car division by finishing second in the 25-lap Sprint Cars of New England feature. Rookie Tyler Rich of Lyme, N.H., piloted a car owned by Donnelly to his first career victory in dominant fashion. Dan Douville of Bridgewater, N.H., finished third in the race and beat Donnelly for his first SCoNE tour championship.

Terry Williams won his third Sportsman Coupe feature of the year in a 40-lap race, with Jason Horniak second and Gene Pierson, Jr., third. Josh Harrington of Topsham finished fourth in the race and clinched his second career championship.

Hometown driver Tyler Stygles wrapped up his first A Notch Above Automotive Limited Late Model championship in strange and dramatic fashion. Stygles entered the race just two points ahead Robert Tucker; as Tucker led the 30-lap race, Stygles ran in second spot and appeared to have the championship in hand, but nearly spun his car and fell back in the field on two separate occasions, handing the point lead temporarily to Tucker. Tucker’s steering broke two laps shy of the finish, though, and Stygles recovered to finish third and take the championship. Fourteen year-old Jordan Fornwalt took the fourth win of his rookie season, with Ryan Christian second. Tucker was scored seventh in the race and finished 14 points behind Stygles, unofficially.

Kevin Harran of St. Johnsbury sealed his first career Bear Ridge title with a fourth-place finish in the Fast Four division. Travis Hull took his third consecutive victory in the 25-lap feature race, followed by Danny Doyle and rookie Bobby Bell.

Hornet driver Eric Lang of Groton notched his track-leading 11th win of the year and earned his first championship. Tom Placey finished second with Charlie Lakin third. Mike Stender was uninjured in a hard flip on the frontstretch.

Scott Holcomb of Granby, Conn., took his second victory of the season in a two-segment exhibition race for the USAC Dirt Midget Association. Track champion Joe Krawiec was second followed by Kevin Chaffee.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — New England Dirt Track Championships presented by The Home Depot, Lake Sunapee Bank, Miller Auto Group, and Gary’s Tire & Auto
Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, Vt.
Saturday, September 24, 2011

(# – denotes rookie)

Bond Auto DIRTcar Sportsman Modified (50 laps)
1. Adam Pierson, Fairlee
2. Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon
3. Chris Donnelly, Piermont, N.H.
4. Gary Siemons, Orford, N.H.
5. Jason Gray, East Thetford
6. Kevin Chaffee, Fairlee
7. Justin Comes, Middlebury
8. # Josh Sunn, White River Junction
9. Dan Eastman, Thetford Center
10. Jim Morgan, Woodstock
11. Bryan King, Corinth
12. Jeff Elliott, Benton, N.H.
13. Jeremy Huntoon, Bradford
14. Mike Dunn, North Haverhill, N.H.
15. Jack Cook, Moultonboro, N.H.
16. Brian Peterson, Enfield, Conn.
17. # Jason Blake, Moretown
18. Peter Carlotto, Housatonic, Mass.

WYKR Sprint Cars of New England (25 laps)
1. # Tyler Rich, Lyme, N.H.
2. Chris Donnelly, Piermont, N.H.
3. Dan Douville, Bridgewater, N.H.
4. # Jake Williams, Center Tuftonboro, N.H.
5. Robby Bodwell, Sanford, Me.
6. Kevin Chaffee, Fairlee
7. # Will Hull, East Montpelier
8. Clay Dow, Barnstead, N.H.
9. Tunk Berry, Center Ossipee, N.H.
10. # Jim Lowrey, Jr., Tilton, N.H.
11. # Brandon Valley, Center Ossipee, N.H.
12. Bruce Kimball, Lebanon, N.H.
13. Shawn Berry, Center Ossipee, N.H.
14. Mark Cole, Lebanon, N.H.
Did Not Start: Shawn Lawler, Mason, N.H.; Lacey Hanson, Orwell; # Matt Robie, Hill, N.H.

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe (40 laps)
1. Terry Williams, Wells River
2. Jason Horniak, Bradford
3. Gene Pierson, Jr., East Corinth
4. Josh Harrington, Topsham
5. Steve Ellsworth, Corinth
6. Bob Shepard, West Topsham
7. Shane Race, South Strafford
8. # Jeff Robbins, Woodsville, N.H.
9. # Jason Colbeth, Newbury
10. Jeremy Beckley, Woodsville, N.H.

A Notch Above Automotive Limited Late Model (30 laps)
1. # Jordan Fornwalt, Bradford
2. Ryan Christian, Canaan, N.H.
3. Tyler Stygles, Bradford
4. Troy Comeau, Rumney, N.H.
5. # Brian Chaffee, West Topsham

Weglarz Property Service Fast Four (25 laps)
1. Travis Hull, Graniteville
2. Danny Doyle, Barre
3. # Bobby Bell, St. Johnsbury
4. Kevin Harran, St. Johnsbury
5. # Karl Sheldon, St. Johnsbury

KDD NAPA Auto Parts Hornet (25 laps)
1. Eric Lang, Groton
2. Tom Placey, Bradford
3. Charlie Lakin, Groton
4. Don Reynolds, Springfield
5. Phil Tanner, St. Johnsbury

USAC Dirt Midget Association (15 laps x 2)
1. Scott Holcomb, Granby, Conn.
2. Joe Krawiec, Bristol, Conn.
3. Kevin Chaffee, Fairlee
4. Scott Viets, East Granby, Conn.
5. Ray Miller, East Granby, Conn.
6. Tony Montesi, Roxbury, Conn.
7. Tim Gallant, Wales, Mass.
8. Jeff Horn, Hudson, Mass.
9. Thom Ring, Pascoag, R.I.
10. Kevin White, Chaplin, Conn.