PHOTO: Eddie MacDonald won the first segment of the ACT All-Star Late Model Challenge. (VMM photo)

–by T.J. Ingerson

LOUDON, N.H. — Eddie MacDonald won the first segment of the ACT All-Star Late Model Challenge at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway. MacDonald, of Rowley, Mass., sat on the pole but relinquished the lead to Joey Laquerre after the first lap, but retook the lead from Laquerre after a lap four restart and never surrendered the lead.

“The car was really good,” said MacDonald. “We really had to push [the car] hard to get the point average we could. But this is only part of the job today. The second, 50-lap segment is going to be really tough. We’re going to have to be able to pass as many cars as we can, while being smart about it to keep the car in one piece.”

Williston, Vt.’s Brian Hoar followed MacDonald around Laquerre to take second, and was able to keep pace with MacDonald as the duo pulled away from the field. Tom Carey, Jr., of New Salem, Mass., worked his way from the eighth starting position to finish third, passing Laquerre with three laps to go. Laquerre, of East Montpelier, Vt., held on for fourth while Austin Theriault, of Fort Kent, Me., completed the unofficial top five.

Karl Allard, Alex Labbe, Donald Theetge, Wayne Helliwell, and Brad Leighton completed the unofficial top ten.

MacDonald will now start segment two in the 36th position as a result of his segment one win. The top 36 finishers in segment one will be inverted for the second segment, which is scheduled to begin at 6:15pm.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — ACT All-Star Late Model Challenge Segment 1
American-Canadian Tour — New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, N.H.
Saturday, August 13, 2011

(# – denotes rookie)

1. (1) Eddie MacDonald, Rowley, Mass.
2. (6) Brian Hoar, Williston, Vt.
3. (8)Tom Carey, Jr., New Salem, Mass.
4. (2) Joey Laquerre, East Montpelier, Vt.,
5. (4) Austin Theriault, Fort Kent, Me.
6. (18) Karl Allard, St-Felicien, Que.
7. (7) Alex Labbe, St-Albert, Que.
8. (5) Donald Theetge, Boischatel, Que.
9. (3) Wayne Helliwell, Dover, N.H.
10. (24) Brad Leighton, Center Harbor, N.H.
11. (14) Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Hudson, N.H.
12. (29) Patrick Laperle, St-Denis, Que.
13. (10) Donnie Lashua, Canaan, N.H.
14. (16) David Michaud, Ste-Annes, Que.
15. (13) Brad Babb, Windham, Me.
16. (14) Ricky Rolfe, Albany Township, Me.
17. (9) Mark Lamberton, Mooers Forks, N.Y.
18. (27) Ray Parent, Tiverton, R.I.
19. (11) Jean-Francois Dery, Quebec, Que.
20. (19) Jeffrey Labrecque, Rochester, N.H.
21. (30) Mike Stefanik, Coventry, R.I.
22. (32) # Pete Yetman, Peru, Mass.
23. (35) John Donahue, Graniteville, Vt.
24. (23) Jacob McGrath, North Claredon, Vt.
25. (21) # Ben Ashline, Pittston, Me.
26. (31) Nick Sweet, Barre, Vt.
27. (22) Shawn Martin, Turner, Me.
28. (20) Randy Potter, Groveton, N.H.
29. (33) Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, Vt.
30. (28) Jamie Aube, North Ferrisburgh, Vt.
31. (17) Aaron Fellows, Croydon, N.H.
32. (37) Scott Luce, Strong, Me.
33. (12) Mike Bruno, Castleton, Vt.
34. (39) # Dave Farrington, Vt.
35. (25) Scott Payea, Milton, Vt.
36. (34) Justin Holtom, Dunrobin, Ont.
37. (40) Dennis Spencer, Jr., Oxford, Me.
38. (38) Glen Luce, Turner, Me.
39. (40) Mike Kenison, Lancaster, N.H.
40. (43) Brent Dragon, Milton, Vt.
41. (41) Patrick Hamel, St-Croix, Que.
42. (42) Marc-Andre Clich