PHOTO: Kyle Busch celebrates in victory lane after winning the Pro All Stars Series race at Oxford (T.J. Ingerson/VMM Photo)

–by T.J. Ingerson

OXFORD, Me. — NASCAR star Kyle Busch came to the Oxford Plains Speedway to do two things: win the Super Late Model race on Saturday night, and then win the TD Bank 250 the following day. Following the Brackett Mechanical/RB Performance PASS 150, he has one task left.

After starting on the pole, Busch, of Las Vegas, Nevada, surrendered the lead to Patrick Laperle on lap 16. Laperle, of St. Denis, Que., would then lead the next 97 laps despite battles from Busch and fellow ACT competitor Joey Polewarczyk.

Busch would continually try to work the inside on Laperle, including a near ten lap battle, but Busch was unable to take the lead. Busch would battle back, again trying on the inside, but that too failed.
It wasn’t until a restart on lap 112 that gave Busch his best chance. On the outside, Busch was able to match Laperle on the restart, holding him down and taking the lead. Busch would lead the final 38 laps to claim the victory.

“We had a really good car today,” said Busch. “We won the heat and that was huge. Getting track
position was huge. I let Patrick [Laperle] set the pace. I didn’t know how hard to push. I just relaxed and fell in line. About 60 laps to go, I tried to go and we didn’t have anything for Laperle. A couple cautions cooled the tires back down and we were able to get back going.”

Busch realized that the only way he was going to beat Laperle was on the outside.

“I was really loose under [Laperle],” Busch said. “It just wasn’t there. I was kind of pinching the car and it got loose. We stayed there and got by him a little bit later on the outside on that restart and won the race.”

Framingham, Me., native Cassius Clark finished second after moving into the top five shortly past the halfway point in the race. Clark was unable to challenge Busch on the final restart on lap 142, which put him next to Busch.

Lonnie Sommerville, of St. Johns, New Brunswick, collected the third position. Sommerville never
cracked the top five until the lap 113 restart, and was able to get past Joey Polewarczyk and Patrick Laperle on the final restart.

Laperle was able to hang on for fourth, while Johnny Clark took home the fifth position.

Joey Polewarczyk was sixth, Mike Rowe seventh, and Brian Hoar eighth. After using a provisional and starting 31st, Ben Rowe drove to an impressive ninth place finish. Joey Doiron completed the unofficial top ten.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — Brackett Mechanical/RB Performance PASS 150
Pro All Stars Series — Oxford Plains Speedway, Oxford, Me.
Saturday, July 23, 2011


1. (1) Kyle Busch, Las Vegas, Nv.
2. (10) Cassius Clark, Farmington, Me.
3. (11) Lonnie Sommerville, St. Johns, N.B.
4. (2) Patrick Laperle, St. Denis, Que.
5. (12) Johnny Clark, Hallowell, Me.
6. (4) Joey Polewarczyk, Hudson, N.H.
7. (8) Mike Rowe, Turner, Me.
8. (18) Brian Hoar, Williston, Vt.
9. (31) Ben Rowe, Turner, Me.
10. (6) Joey Doiron, Berwick, Me.
11. (27) Scott Mulkern, Falmouth, Me.
12. (9) Scott Chubbuck, Dresden, Me.
13. (3) Donnie Whitten, Biddeford, Me.
14. (14) Jay Fogleman, Durham, N.C.
15. (13) Gary Smith, Bangor, Me.
16. (17) Alexandre Gingras, Quebec,Que.
17. (15) Travis Benjamin, Morrill, Me.
18. (34) Scott Dragon, Milton, Vt.
19. (19) Kirk Thibeau, Fort Fairfield, Me.
20. (5) Steven Legendre, St. Johnsbury, Vt.
21. (28) Matt Frahm, New Salem, N.H.
22. (20) Brad Babb, Windham, Me.
23. (7) Bill Penfold, Oxford, Me.
24. (24) Scott Alexander, Orrington, Me.
25. (25) Kyle DeSouza, East Providence, R.I.
26. (26) Martin LaTulippe, Vallee Jonction, Que.
27. (32) John Dabrowski, West Bridgewater, Mass.
28. (30) Kevin Roberge, Levis, Que.
29. (33) Matt Matheson, Geary, N.B.
30. (21) Tracy Gordon, Strong, Me.
31. (16) Kelly Moore, Scarborough, Me.
32. (23) Jean-Francois Dery, Quebec, Que.
33. (29) Alan Wilson, Herbon, Me.
34. (22) David Oliver, Standish, Me.