BRADFORD — Sportsman Modified rookie Ryan Dutton made a big jump pay off on Saturday night at Bear Ridge Speedway as he earned his first career victory in the track’s top division. The hometown driver jumped three divisions during the off-season from the four-cylinder Fast Four class to the open-wheel Modifieds.

Dutton led every lap from the pole position for the win. Veterans Jack Cook of Moultonboro, N.H., and defending champion Gary Siemons of Orford, N.H., followed Dutton across the finish line, with Bryan King and point leader Adam Pierson rounding out the top five.

Former champion Steve Ellsworth of Corinth went to victory lane in the Sportsman Coupe division, returning to the class after taking last season off. Ellsworth beat King, rookie Jeremy Stygles, Gene Pierson, and Kane Pike for the checkers.

Orford, N.H., racer Chris Donnelly, a two-time Modified winner at Bear Ridge in 2010, scored his first Sprint Cars of New England win at the track with a last-lap pass of Si Allen of West Windsor. Kevin Chaffee of Orange was third, followed by Dan Douville and Shawn Lawler.

Tyler Stygles of Bradford earned his second Limited Late Model win of the year, followed by Jeremy Hodge, Will Hull, T.C. Forward, and Robert Tucker.

White River Junction’s Josh Sunn made it nine-for-nine in the Fast Four division, beating Andy Johnson and Kevin Harran for the win. Tom Placey of Bradford won the Hornet feature over rookies Eric Lang and Jesse Smith. Melissa King of Corinth won the Hornet Queen race over Misty Bell and Donna Racine.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — Dennis Preston Builder Night
Bear Ridge Speedway, Bradford, Vt.
Saturday, July 10, 2010

# – denotes rookie

Bond Auto Sportsman Modified
1. # Ryan Dutton, Bradford
2. Jack Cook, Moultonboro, N.H.
3. Gary Siemons, Orford, N.H.
4. Bryan King, Corinth
5. Adam Pierson, Fairlee

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe
1. Steve Ellsworth, East Corinth
2. Bryan King, Corinth
3. # Jeremy Stygles, Bradford
4. Gene Pierson, Jr., East Corinth
5. Kane Pike, Thetford

A Notch Above Auto Limited Late Model
1. Tyler Stygles, Bradford
2. Jeremy Hodge, Newbury
3. Will Hull, East Montpelier
4. T.C. Forward, Lyme, N.H.
5. Robert Tucker, Thetford

Journal Opinion Fast Four
1. Josh Sunn, White River Junction
2. Andy Johnson, Wilder
3. Kevin Harran, St. Johnsbury
4. # Josh Connors, White River Junction
5. # Robert Tilden, East Thetford

1. Tom Placey, Bradford
2. # Eric Lang, Groton
3. # Jesse Smith, Thetford
4. Mike Ryan, Corinth
5. Karl Sheldon, St. Johnsbury

Hannaford Supermarkets Hornet Queen
1. Melissa King, Corinth
2. Misty Bell, St. Johnsbury
3. Donna Racine, St. Johnsbury

WYKR Sprint Cars of New England
1. # Chris Donnelly, Orford, N.H.
2. Si Allen, West Windsor
3. # Kevin Chaffee, Orange
4. # Dan Douville, Concord, N.H.
5. Shawn Lawler, Mason, N.H.