BRADFORD — Jason Gray of East Thetford earned the biggest victory of his young career on Saturday night at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, taking the checkers in a wild 40-lap Gravco Janitorial/Jasper Engines Twin State Modified Series event. After delays for dusty track conditions, intermittent rain, and big wrecks, Gray held off all comers for the victory, the second round of the six-race Twin State schedule.

Point leader Adam Pierson of Fairlee was involved in a crash on lap 2 that ended the race prematurely for veteran Bryan King and rookie Dan Eastman, and more than half of the 20-car field was caught up in a later wreck, triggered by a spin by Jason Sanville, who was running in second place at the time.

Reportedly, several crew members were involved in a scuffle in the pit area following the incident, and an official Bear Ridge Speedway press release stated that “several fines and penalties are being issued” in response to the incident.

Travis Shinn of Groton, N.H., was able to take the runner-up spot behind Gray, with defending Bear Ridge champion Gary Siemons of Orford, N.H., in third place. Ryan Avery of Thornton, N.H., was fourth, and sophomore driver Mike Dunn of North Haverhill, N.H., was fifth.

The unofficial top-ten was completed in order by rookie Jeff Elliott, Kevin Chaffee — winner of the first Twin State race at Canaan Dirt (N.H.) Speedway last week — rookie Justin Comes, Mike Greene, and Trevor Rocke.

Defending Sportsman Coupe champion Josh Harrington of Topsham took his second victory of the season over King, of Corinth, and point leader Melvin Pierson of East Corinth. Limited Late Model point leader Will Hull of East Montpelier continued his hot streak with another win, beating Tyler Stygles of Bradford and Jason Giguere of Lebanon, N.H.

Josh Sunn of White River Junction won his sixth-straight Fast Four race over Wilder’s Andy Johnson and Josh Connor of White River Junction. Bradford’s Tom Placey won the Hornet race over Bobby Bell of St. Johnsbury and Eric Lang of Groton.

Matt Robie of Hill, N.H., won the Granite State Mini Sprint Series 600cc feature, and Josh Boissoneau of Bedford, N.H., won the 500cc race.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — Bradford Jiffy Mart 40
Twin State Modified Series — Bear Ridge Speedway, Bradford, Vt.
Saturday, June 19, 2010

# – denotes rookie
Gravco Janitorial/Jasper Engines Twin State Modified Series
1. Jason Gray, East Thetford
2. Travis Shinn, Groton, N.H.
3. Gary Siemons, Orford, N.H.
4. Ryan Avery, Thornton, N.H.
5. Mike Dunn, North Haverhill, N.H.
6. # Jeff Elliott
7. Kevin Chaffee, Orange
8. # Justin Comes, Middlebury
9. Mike Greene, Haverhill, N.H.
10. Trevor Rocke, Canaan, N.H.

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe
1. Josh Harrington, Topsham
2. Bryan King, Corinth
3. Melvin Pierson, East Corinth
4. Jason Horniak, Bradford
5. # Jeremy Stygles, Bradford

A Notch Above Auto Limited Late Model
1. Will Hull, East Montpelier
2. Tyler Stygles, Bradford
3. Jason Giguere, Lebanon, N.H.
4. Dan Benoit, Groveton, N.H.
5. Mike Greene, Haverhill, N.H.

Journal Opinion Fast Four
1. Josh Sunn, White River Junction
2. Andy Johnson, Wilder
3. # Josh Connor, White River Junction
4. Kevin Harran, St. Johnsbury
5. Robert Tilden, East Thetford

1. Tom Placey, Bradford
2. Bobby Bell, St. Johnsbury
3. # Eric Lang, Groton
4. Karl Sheldon, St. Johnsbury
5. # Jesse Smith, Topsham