PHOTO: Dan Douville (#7x) goes three-wide with Shawn Lawler (#18L) and Bob Giuliani (#38) in SCoNE Sprint Car qualifying on Saturday at Bear Ridge Speedway. Douville would go on to win the main event. (Alan Ward photo)

Eastman rides new mount to Modified victory; Pierson steals Coupe checkers

(From track press release)

BRADFORD — Dan Douville earned his first Bear Ridge Speedway victory of the season on Perry’s Oil Service Night with a dominant performance in the 25-lap WYKR Sprint Cars of New England feature on Saturday. The victory was Douville’s fifth at the track since last season.

Douville, of Bridgewater, N.H., started 12th on the 18-car field and wasted no time getting to the front. With no cautions slowing the pace, Douville sliced his way through traffic and passed rookie Will Hull for the lead on lap 9. SCoNE point leader Chris Donnelly of Piermont, N.H., followed Douville through from his 13th starting spot to take the runner-up position. Rookie Tyler Rich of Pike, N.H., finished a career-best third, followed by Kevin Chaffee and Shawn Lawler. Hull faded to sixth, unofficially, followed by Andy Seuss, Matt Shuart, Matt Robie, and Jim Lowrey.

Twenty-three cars attempted to qualify for the main event, an all-time Sprint Cars of New England record.

Dan Eastman drove to his first victory of the season in the 30-lap Bond Auto Parts DIRTcar Sportsman Modified feature. The Thetford Center driver took the lead from Mike Dunn with an outside-lane pass on lap 10, then survived three quick restarts for the win. Eastman’s win came in his first start driving a car recently acquired from Mohawk (N.Y.) Int’l Raceway champion Carey Terrance.

Wayne Stearns of Bradford got past Dunn on one of the restarts for second place, but dealt with Dunn and Adam Pierson through the remainder of the event, while weaving through lapped traffic. Stearns finished second with Dunn, of North Haverhill, N.H., a season-best third. Pierson was fourth with Jason Gray fifth.

Gene Pierson, Jr., of East Corinth took his fifth Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe victory of the season with a late pass of Bob Shepard. Pierson was part of a fierce battle for the win that included three-wide racing at the front. Pierson rode the top lane of the track past Shepard and led only the final two laps. Shepard finished second with Shane Race third, Josh Harrington fourth, and Jeremy Beckley fifth.

Ray Johnson of Campton, N.H., scored his first career win in the A Notch Above Automotive Limited Late Model feature. Johnson capitalized on late-race contact between leaders Richie Simmons and Jeremy Hodge to make a three-wide pass for the win. Simmons, of Bradford, was second for the fourth time this season, with Hodge third. Troy Comeau and Jordan Fornwalt completed the unofficial top five.

Travis Hull of Graniteville took his third Weglarz Property Service Fast Four victory of the summer. Steve Bell made a late charge for a season-best runner-up finish, with Kevin Harran third. Mike Stender of South Strafford had an easy stroll to the win in the KDD NAPA Auto Parts Hornet feature. Don Reynolds and Tom Placey completed the podium. Travis King of Corinth took his third Hornet Stinger youth divison win over Geoff Durphey and Dominic Bassett.

Bear Ridge Speedway is back in action on Saturday, August 6, as Interstate Battery of New-Mont and JTB Towing & Recovery present a full card for the 99ROCK Weekly Racing Series, plus the USAC Dirt Midget Association, the Granite State Mini Sprints, and the Hornet Queens. Racing action begins at 6:00pm.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — Perry’s Oil Service Night
Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, Vt.
Saturday, July 30, 2011

(# – denotes rookie)

WYKR Sprint Cars of New England (25 laps)
1. Dan Douville, Bridgewater, N.H.
2. Chris Donnelly, Piermont, N.H.
3. # Tyler Rich, Pike, N.H.
4. Kevin Chaffee, Fairlee
5. Shawn Lawler, Mason, N.H.
6. # Will Hull, East Montpelier
7. # Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H.
8. Matt Shuart, Walkill, N.Y.
9. # Matt Robie, Hill, N.H.
10. # Jim Lowrey, Jr., Tilton, N.H.
11. Shawn Berry, Center Ossipee, N.H.
12. Randy Wimert, Falmouth, Me.
13. Tunk Berry, Center Ossipee, N.H.
14. Lacey Hanson, Orwell
15. Nick Berry, Manchester, N.H.
16. # Jake Williams, Center Tuftonboro, N.H.
17. Robby Bodwell, Sanford, Me.
18. # Dylan Campbell, Southboro, Mass.
Did Not Qualify: Bruce Kimball, Lebanon, N.H.; Rob Shuart, Walkill, N.Y.; # Brandon Valley, Center Ossipee, N.H.; Bob Giuliani, Middetown, N.H.; Mark Cole, Lebanon, N.H.

Bond Auto DIRTcar Sportsman Modified (30 laps)
1. Dan Eastman, Thetford Center
2. Wayne Stearns, Bradford
3. Mike Dunn, North Haverhill, N.H.
4. Adam Pierson, Fairlee
5. Jason Gray, East Thetford
6. Kevin Chaffee, Fairlee
7. Jim Morgan, Woodstock
8. Louie Cadwell, Vershire
9. Justin Comes, Middlebury
10. Bryan King, Corinth

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe (25 laps)
1. Gene Pierson, Jr., East Corinth
2. Bob Shepard, West Topsham
3. Shane Race, South Strafford
4. Josh Harrington, Topsham
5. Jeremy Beckley, Woodsville, N.H.
6. Terry Williams, Wells River
7. Jason Horniak, Bradford
8. Steve Ellsworth, Corinth
9. Jeremy Stygles, Bradford
10. # Jason Colbeth, Newbury

A Notch Above Automotive Limited Late Model (20 laps)
1. Ray Johnson, Campton, N.H.
2. Richie Simmons, Bradford
3. Jeremy Hodge, Newbury
4. Troy Comeau, Rumney, N.H.
5. # Jordan Fornwalt, Bradford

Weglarz Property Service Fast Four (20 laps)
1. Travis Hull, Graniteville
2. Steve Bell, St. Johnsbury
3. Kevin Harran, St. Johnsbury
4. Danny Doyle, Barre
5. # Bobby Bell, St. Johnsbury

KDD NAPA Auto Parts Hornet (20 laps)
1. Mike Stender, South Strafford
2. Don Reynolds, Springfield
3. Tom Placey, Bradford
4. Eric Lang, Groton
5. Andy Mooney, Danville

Hornet Stinger (10 laps)
1. Travis King, Corinth
2. Geoff Durphey, Springfield
3. Dominic Bassett, Lyndonville