–by T.J. Ingerson (@TJIngerson)
VMM Editor

NORTH WOODSTOCK, N.H. – Johnny Clark got beat once at White Mountain Motorsports Park this season. He wasn’t going to let it happen again.

The six-time PASS North Super Late Model champion held off defending series champion Mike Rowe to claim his first win of the season on Saturday night.

The Hallowell, Maine driver was defeated by Joey Polewarczyk Jr. earlier in the season for a win at White Mountain after Clark dominated that event. He did the same on Saturday night, leading all 150 laps after starting on the outside pole position.

“(The car) was free the whole race and I was really worried about Mike (Rowe),” Clark said in victory lane. “He ran me hard the whole race and he never let up one bit.

“He got up under me a couple of times.”

Throughout the 150-lap event, Clark was forced to hold off multiple challenges from Rowe. Rowe would keep applied pressure throughout most of the race, but Clark was able to stay a step ahead until Rowe came under attack from former series champion Travis Benjamin.

A late race caution put Rowe back to Clark’s outside, but Clark powered away and claimed the win.

“Luckily (Benjamin) got here and put the pressure on (Rowe),” Clark said. “That gave me a break the rest of the race.”

Clark entered White Mountain a distant second in the championship chase. The win will only close up the championship gap to point leader D.J. Shaw. Clark, however, was just happy to be victorious this season.

“I’m happy we won one in 2016 now,” Clark said. “We’ll go to the next few and try to get them.”

Rowe, of Turner, Maine, held onto the second spot through the race’s final restart to post his best finish of the 2016 season. Derem Ramstrom of Worcester, Mass., finished third following the final restart after he got past Benjamin. Scarborough, Maine’s Garrett Hall did the same and finished fourth while Benjamin, of Morrill, Maine, fell back to fifth at the checkered flag after he ran from a 14th place starting spot.

Nick Jenkins posted a career best finish in sixth while Derek Griffith raced home seventh. Ben Rowe rallied from a flat tire that drew the race’s final caution to finish eighth. Travis Stearns and Jeremy Davis completed the top-ten finishers.

The PASS North Super Late Models continue their season on Saturday, October 1 at Star Speedway.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – White Mountain 150
PASS North Super Late Models
White Mountain Motorsports Park, North Woodstock, N.H.
Saturday, September 24, 2016


1. (2) Johnny Clark, Hallowell, Maine
2. (3) Mike Rowe, Turner, Maine
3. (6) Derek Ramstrom, Worcester, Mass.
4. (16) Garrett Hall, Scarborough, Maine
5. (14) Travis Benjamin, Morrill, Maine
6. (4) Nick Jenkins, Brownville, Maine
7. (12) Derek Griffith, Hudson, N.H.
8. (11) Ben Rowe, Turner, Maine
9. (5) Travis Stearns, Auburn, Maine
10. (1) Jeremy Davis, Tamworth, N.H.
11. (15) D.J. Shaw, Center Conway, N.H.
12. (7) Brandon Barker, Windham, Maine
13. (13) Glen Luce, Turner, Maine
14. (17) J.T. Thurlow, Windham, Maine
15. (8) Sammy Gooden, Whitefield, N.H.
16. (10) Gary Smith, Bangor, Maine
17. (9) Craig Weinstein, Walpole, Mass.

PHOTO: Johnny Clark celebrates his PASS North Super Late Model win on Saturday night at White Mountain Motorsports Park. (T.J. Ingerson/VMM photo)