Hackel takes third win; Duprey, Ryan sweep double features

(From track press release)

WEST HAVEN – Chad Miller pulled off the upset victory of the season at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Sunday, August 7, winning the second of two NASCAR Whelen All-American Series feature races on the 3/10-mile Dirt Track.  Miller shared victory lane during the night with Bobby Hackel, Bill Duprey, and Mike Ryan.

Hackel, of Rensselaer, N.Y., was the first to score in the headline Central Vermont Motorcycles Sportsman Modified division, earning his third win of the season.  After starting 14th on the field, Hackel needed just eight laps to get the lead.  He was on cruise control with more than a quarter-track lead when the race was halted five laps short of the scheduled 25-lap distance; a malfunction with the generator that supplies electricity to the speedway left the track lights too dim to continue racing.

Miller, of White River Junction, Vt., began his solid night with a surprise runner-up finish in the first race, followed by an equally-impressive Jim Introne Jr.  Fourth place went to Justin Comes with Kenny Tremont Jr. fifth.  Chris Murray, rookie Justin Severance, Billy Lussier, Vince Quenneville Jr., and Codie Aubin rounded out the top 10.

The lighting malfunction was quickly fixed and the program was able to continue after a brief delay.

Miller’s night only got better in the second 25-lap race.  After taking the lead from Aubin in the early going, Miller fended off a persistent, multi-lane challenge from Quenneville for much of the race, then out-dragged a charging Tremont to the finish line to win by a half-car length.  The victory was Miller’s first at Devil’s Bowl since a Pro Stock event in 1998; his best finish in 2016 prior to the double feature evening had been 20thplace.

“I can’t believe this – I’m totally speechless. This must be a mistake,” Miller joked in victory lane. “I knew [Tremont] was there on the last lap, so I just hit the gas and drove as hard as I could.  This is unreal.”

Quenneville finished third behind Miller and Tremont, with Hackel fourth and Derrick McGrew fifth.  Severance, Tim LaDuc, Wayne Stearns, Jackie Brown Jr., and Comes ran in positions 6-10.

Bill Duprey remains undefeated in the Rosen & Berger Auto Recyclers Renegade division after sweeping both 15-lap features.  The Hydeville, Vt., resident took the 40thDevil’s Bowl win of his career with a dominant showing in the first race, outpacing rookie Josh Bussino for the checkered flag.  Frank Monroe finished third in his first start of the year, followed by Lou Gancarz and Aaron Fachini.

In the Renegade nightcap, Duprey was aided by a late caution flag the bunched the field and erased a big lead held by Matt Mosher.  Duprey scooted out to the lead and raised his career total to 41 wins, while Mosher held on for the runner-up finish.  Bussino was third ahead of Paul Braymer and Curt Condon.  Duprey has now won in all four of his feature starts in 2016.

The Portland Glass Mini Stock division also saw a clean sweep by Mike Ryan of Vershire, Vt., as he took both 15-lap features for the entry-level class.  Ryan took the lead in the first race from Chris Conroy and sailed off with his first Devil’s Bowl win.  Conroy finished second, while Wayland Childs recovered from a muddy trip through the infield for third place.  Derrick Counter and Jason Porter completed the top five.

Ryan dominated the second race for the win.  Childs and Conroy swapped finishing positions from the opening race, with Childs the runner-up and Conroy in third in the second round.  C.J. LaVair – who on the half-mile Asphalt Track at Devil’s Bowl on Saturday night – finished fourth with Chris Charbonneau a stout fifth in his first night of racing at Devil’s Bowl.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is back in action with the special “Whelen Wednesday” event on Wednesday, August 10 at 7:00 p.m., featuring the twice-rescheduled double-points Mid-Season Championship on the Dirt Track.  Regular general admission is $12 for adults, $10 for seniors (62+), $5 for teens (13-17), and free for kids age 12 and under.  The “Tennessee Twister” monster truck will also be on hand giving fans rides for just $5 per ride.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, Vt., four miles north of Exit 2 off of U.S. Route 4 and just 20 minutes from Rutland, Vt.  For more information, visit www.DevilsBowlSpeedwayVT.com or call .  Devil’s Bowl Speedway is on Facebook at facebook.com/DevilsBowlSpeedway and on Twitter and Instagram at @DevilsBowlSpeed; follow the action using the #DevilsBowl hashtag.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Dirt Track Double Features Night
NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
Dirt Track at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, Vt.
Sunday, August 7, 2016

(# — denotes rookie)

Central Vermont Motorcycles Sportsman Modifieds Feature #1 (20 laps)
1. Bobby Hackel, Rensselaer, N.Y.
2. Chad Miller, White River Junction
3. Jim Introne Jr., Hartford, N.Y.
4. Justin Comes, Middlebury
5. Kenny Tremont Jr., West Sand Lake, N.Y.
6. Chris Murray, Fair Haven
7. # Justin Severance, Pittsford
8. Billy Lussier, Fair Haven
9. Vince Quenneville Jr., Brandon
10. Codie Aubin, Plattsburgh, N.Y.

Central Vermont Motorcycles Sportsman Modifieds Feature #2 (20 laps)
1. Chad Miller, White River Junction
2. Kenny Tremont Jr., West Sand Lake, N.Y.
3. Vince Quenneville Jr., Brandon
4. Bobby Hackel, Rensselaer, N.Y.
5. Derrick McGrew, Ballston Spa, N.Y.
6. # Justin Severance, Pittsford
7. Tim LaDuc, Orwell
8. Wayne Stearns, Bradford
9. Jackie Brown Jr., Hurley, N.Y.
10. Justin Comes, Middlebury

Rosen & Berger Auto Recyclers Renegades Feature #1 (15 laps)
1. Bill Duprey, Hydeville
2. # Josh Bussion, Belmont
3. Frank Monroe, Granville, N.Y.
4. Lou Gancarz, North Adams, Mass.
5. Aaron Fachini, North Adams, Mass.
Rosen & Berger Auto Recyclers Renegades Feature #2 (15 laps)
1. Bill Duprey, Hydeville
2. Matt Mosher, Queensbury, N.Y.
3. # Josh Bussion, Belmont
4. Paul Braymer, Granville, N.Y.
5. Curtis Condon, Queensbury, N.Y.

Portland Glass Mini Stocks Feature #1 (15 laps)
1. Mike Ryan, Vershire
2. Chris Conroy, Newport, N.H.
3. Wayland Childs, Chelsea
4. Derrick Counter, Leicester
5. Jason Porter, Freeport, Maine

Portland Glass Mini Stocks Feature #2 (15 laps)
1. Mike Ryan, Vershire
2. Wayland Childs, Chelsea
3. Chris Conroy, Newport, N.H.
4. C.J. LaVair, Saranac Lake, N.Y.
5. # Chris Charbonneau, Rutland

PHOTO: Chad Miller of White River Junction, Vt., scored a major upset with his first-career Central Vermont Motorcycles Sportsman Modified win at the Dirt Track at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. (Andrew Cassidy/Devil’s Bowl Speedway photo)