Defending champ Heywood claims third win

(From track press release) 

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. — West Chazy, N.Y. driver Mike Wells was able to pick up his first victory of 2016 in the first of two features for the Ernie’s Discount Tools Sportsman Modifieds on Saturday night at Airborne Park Speedway.

Wells took the lead on a lap 15 restart, but it was not smooth sailing for Wells. Wells’ car was sideways twice in the final five laps between turns three and four.

“We’ve had brake issues all night and that caused the problem in turns three and four,” Wells said.

Morrisonville, N.Y. driver Danny Sullivan had two bids for the lead on the bottom of the track but showed good courtesy, allowing Wells plenty of room to hang on to his number 76 machine.

“Danny raced clean and is a pleasure to race against,” Wells added.

Chris Sousie lead laps one through fourteen. Nick Heywood had worked his way to the outside of Sousie on lap 14 when Heywood and Sousie made contact in turn one. Heywood’s car lost power and brought out a yellow flag.

Sullivan, Roger LaBreche, Bucko Branham and Jamie LaFountain completed the unofficial top five.

The second 25-lap feature for the Sportsman Modifieds found two of the division’s top competitors with a lap 16 restart to decide it all.

Heywood on the inside and Branham on the outside raced to turn one and Heywood was able to prevail. He never looked back en route to his third win of the season.

Branham, Sullivan, LaFountain and Wells completed the unofficial top five.

Milton, Vt’s, Robert Gordon picked up his third win of 2016 to claim the win in the 25-lap Jeffords Steel Renegade feature.

The all-time winningest driver in the division battled three-wide multiple times in his pursuit to the front of the field. Brothers Josh and Tylor Terry battled for the lead in the middle stages of the race, but made contact which opened up the door for Brent Jarvis and Gordon.

Jarvis, Shawn Duquette, Tylor Terry and Dylan Rabtoy completed the unofficial top five.

Peru’s Josh LaPorte was able to execute late lap traffic while holding off Dale O’Neil for his third win of the year in the 15-lap Busch Beer Mini Mod feature. Tim LaFountain, Ed Bresette and Tyler Irwin completed the unofficial top five.

Racing action resumes next week with the $10,000 358 Modified Shootout. The Renegades will also be in action for their longest distance race of the season to this point, 50 laps. Busch Beer Mini Mods will run a regular event. Post time next Saturday is 6pm.

UNOFFICIAL REUSLTS – Huntley Trucking Night
NASCAR Whelen All-American Series – Airborne Park Speedway, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
Saturday, June 4, 2016


Ernie’s Discount Tools Sportsman Modifieds Feature #1 (25 laps)
1. Mike Wells, West Chazy, N.Y.
2. Danny Sullivan, Morrisonville, N.Y.
3. Roger Labreche, St-Remi, Que.
4. Bucko Branham, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
5. Jamie LaFountain, Keeseville, N.Y.
6. Chris Sousie, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
7. Nick Heywood, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
8. Codie Aubin, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
9. Jamy Begor, Mooers, N.Y.
10. Chris Cayea, Champlain, N.Y.

Ernie’s Discount Tools Sportsman Modifieds Feature #2 (25 laps)
1. Nick Heywood, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
2. Bucko Branham, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
3. Danny Sullivan, Morrisonville, N.Y.
4. Jamie LaFountain, Keeseville, N.Y.
5. Mike Wells, West Chazy, N.Y.
6. Chris Sousie, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
7. Codie Aubin, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
8. Jamy Begor, Mooers, N.Y.
9. Rico Hernandez, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
10. Mike Hall, Plattsburgh, N.Y.

Jeffords Steel Renegades (25 laps)
1. Robert Gordon, Milton, Vt.
2. Brent Jarvis, Peru, N.Y.
3. Shawn Duquette, Morrisonville, N.Y.
4. Tylor Terry, Morrisonville, N.Y.
5. Dylan Raboty, Swanton, Vt.
6. Zach Rabtoy,
7. Richie Turner, Fairfax, Vt.
8. Josh Terry, Essex, N.Y.
9. Jason McClatchie, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
10. Jared Blake, North Hero, Vt.

Busch Beer Mini-Modifieds (15 laps)
1. Josh LaPorte, Peru, N.Y.
2. Dale O’Neil, Mooers, N.Y.
3. Tim LaFountain, Keeseville, N.Y.
4. Ed Bresette, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
5. Tyler Irwin, Peru, N.Y.

PHOTO: Mike Wells celebrates his Ernie Discount Tools Sportsman Modified feature win on Saturday night at Airborne Park Speedway. The veteran driver won the first of two 25-lap feature events for the division. (Dave Brown photo)