Terry wins 50-lap Renegade feature

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. – Chris Cayea held off Nick Heywood on Saturday night at Airborne Park Speedway to claim the win in the return of the 358 Modifieds.

The Mooers, N.Y. driver took the lead on lap 48 from Aaron Bartemy, who had spun around for a broken axle in turn two.

From there, Cayea was forced to contend with four-time defending Sportsman Modified champion Heywood. Cayea’s 358 power was able to best Heywood’s 602 create motor off the corners and keep the Plattsburgh, N.Y. driver at bay in the second spot.

Matt Woodruff of Bloomingdale, N.Y. finished third with former Airborne 358 champion George Foley of Saranac Lake, N.Y. fourth. Hometown driver Jake Branham completed the top-five finishers while sixth through tenth went to Mike Wells, Lance Willix, Chris Reeves, Mike Phinney, and Roger Labreche.

Josh Terry used a lap 47 restart in the 50-lap Sunoco Race Fuels sponsored Jeffords Steel Renegade event to claim the win over Robert Gordon.

The Essex, N.Y. driver used the top lane on the restart and moved into the lead. Gordon, of Milton, Vt., held on for second while Fairfax, Vt. driver Richie Turner finished third. Zach Rabtoy and Jon Boutin completed the top-five finishers, while sixth through tenth went to Dylan Rabtoy, Ryan Boutin, Mark Caron, Zack Daniels, and Michael Wright.

Dale O’Neil of Mooers, N.Y. took the lead early in the 15-lap Busch Beer Mini Modified feature to claim the win. Josh Laporte and Tim LaFountain completed the podium finishers while Robert Foley and Eddie Bresette finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Airborne races on Saturday, June 18 at 6:00pm for Kid’s Night presented by Sweet Frog.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Ernie’s Discount Tools 358 Modified Shootout
Airborne Park Speedway, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
Saturday, June 11, 2016


358 Modified Shootout (75 laps)
1. Chris Cayea, Mooers, N.Y.
2. Nick Heywood, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
3. Matt Woodruff, Bloomingdale, N.Y.
4. George Foley, Saranac Lake, N.Y.
5. Jake Branham, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
6. Mike Wells, West Chazy, N.Y.
7. Lance Willix, Theresa, N.Y.
8. Chris Reeves, Peru, N.Y.
9. Mike Phinney, Willsboro, N.Y.
10. Roger Labreche, St-Remi, Que.
11. Ryan McLean, AuSable Forks, N.Y.
12. Bucko Branham, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
13. Timex Morgan, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
14. Chris Sousie, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
15. Aaron Bartemy, Swanton, Vt.
16. Brian McGinley, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
17. Rico Hernandez, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
18. Mikael Labreche, Ste-Beatrix, Que.
19. Richard Tisseur, Chateauguay, Que.
20. Codie Aubin, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
21. Jamy Begor, Mooers Forks, N.Y.
22. Jason McClatchie, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
23. Dave Whitson, Saranac Lake, N.Y.
24. Danny Sullivan, Morrisonville, N.Y.
25. Michael Hall Jr., Plattsburgh, N.Y.
26. Mike McGinn, Elizabethtown, N.Y.

Jeffords Steel Renegades (50 laps)
1. Josh Terry, Essex, N.Y.
2. Robert Gordon, Milton, Vt.
3. Richie Turner, Fairfax, Vt.
4. Zach Rabtoy, Fairfax, Vt.
5. Jon Boutin, St. Albans, Vt.
6. Dylan Rabtoy, Swanton, Vt.
7. Ryan Boutin, Fairfax, Vt.
8. Mark Caron, Peru, N.Y.
9. Zack Daniels, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
10. Michael Wright, Alburgh, Vt.

Busch Beer Mini-Modifieds (15 laps)
1. Dale O’Neil, Mooers, N.Y.
2. Josh LaPorte, Peru, N.Y.
3. Tim LaFountain, Keeseville, N.Y.
4. Robert Foley, Saranac, N.Y.
5. Eddie Bresette, Plattsburgh, N.Y.

PHOTO: Chris Cayea won in the return of the 358 Modifieds to Airborne on Saturday night. (Dave Brown photo)