–by T.J. Ingerson (@TJIngerson)
VMM Editor

BARRE – For years, Glen Luce traveled to Thunder Road Speedbowl in search of a win while racing on the ACT Late Model Tour. While he came close, the win never came at one of the toughest short tracks in racing.

On Sunday, however, Luce piloted his PASS Super Late Model to victory lane.

“This place is everything,” Luce said. “There are a lot of memories here.

“I have a lot of friends over here. The fans over here are phenomenal. I have best friends over here.”

The Turner, Maine driver used a late race restart from the outside lane to claim the lead over Wayne Helliwell Jr. on lap 120. Helliwell had assumed the lead under caution when race leader Jeremy Davis’ car shut down on the frontstretch.

For Luce, winning at Thunder Road, and in front of track promoter Tom Curley, meant a lot.

“This (win) is for Tom Curley,” Luce said.

Helliwell was forced to come from the rear of the field on the initial start after a tire problem following the heat race. The Dover, N.H. driver worked both lanes through the field to get to the top spot, but appeared to spin his tires on the race’s final restart that allowed Luce to power past.

“The car was really good on long runs,” Helliwell said. “I didn’t want to see that caution come out.”

Travis Benjamin of Morrill, Maine led the first 101 laps of the race and finished third. Derek Ramstrom of West Boylston, Mass. and Ben Rowe of Turner, Maine completed the top-five finishers.

Derek Griffith charged early in the race from a sixth place starting spot to plant himself on Benjamin’s bumper, but faded late and finished sixth. PASS regulars Johnny Clark, D.J. Shaw, and Mike Rowe finished seventh, eighth, and ninth, respectively. ACT Late Model Tour driver Scott Payea, in his first PASS Super Late Model start, finished tenth.

The Pro All Stars Series will travel to White Mountain Motorsports Park on Saturday, June 11.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic 150
Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Models – Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl, Barre, Vt.
Sunday, May 29, 2016


1. (4) Glen Luce, Turner, Maine
2. (18) Wayne Helliwell Jr., Dover, N.H.
3. (1) Travis Benjamin, Morrill, Maine
4. (7) Derek Ramstrom, West Boylston, Mass.
5. (11) Ben Rowe, Turner, Maine
6. (6) Derek Griffith, Hudson, N.H.
7. (10) Johnny Clark, Farmingdale, Maine
8. (13) D.J. Shaw, Center Conway, N.H.
9. (9) Mike Rowe, Turner ,Maine
10. (8) Scott Payea, Milton, Vt.
11. (3) Travis Stearns, Auburn, Maine
12. (15) Brent Dragon, Milton, Vt.
13. (12) Mike Hopkins, Hermon, Maine
14. (5) Joey Polewarczyk Jr., Hudson, N.H.
15. (2) Jeremy Davis, Tamworth, N.H.
16. (17) Matt Matheson, Oromocto, N.B.
17. (16) Bryan Kruczek, Newmarket, N.H.
18. (14) Todd Stone, Middlebury, Vt.

PHOTO: Glen Luce celebrates his Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model win on Sunday afternoon at Thunder Road. (T.J. Ingerson/VMM photo)