PHOTO: Vince Quenneville, Jr., picked up his third Bond Auto Parts NASCAR Modified feature win of the season Friday night at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. (Ricky St. Clair/VMM photo)

–by Ricky St. Clair
VMM Correspondent

WEST HAVEN — Vince Quenneville Jr., took advantage of a lap 19 restart and fended off Ron Proctor in the closing stages of Friday night’s 35-lap Modified feature for his third victory of the season at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Rookie competitor Joey Roberts lead the first 14-laps of the event before 16-year-old Hunter Bates of Middlebury wrestled away the race lead on lap 15.

Following a caution period with 16-laps remaining, Quenneville, who started 12th in the 16-car field, overtook Bates on the ensuing restart in the second lane of the progressively-banked half-mile.

“It was all about who got the jump off four,” Quenneville said. “The restart before that, I was third behind (Bates) and I was able to push him out of the corner, so I knew that I could pull even with him. I thought if we could go into one side-by-side, he would have to slow down more on the bottom and respect me by not taking me out.”

After a violent two-car accident on lap 22 that featured Jessey Mueller and Jason Bruno off the top of turn two, Quennville was given a new dancing partner with 2011 Vermont State Champion Proctor on his outside.

“I kept waiting for race control to say ‘double up’ and see Proctor pull beside me,” Quenneville admitted. “Our cars are basically a dead heat. I’m glad to see him finish in second because he bounced back after getting tangled up with someone early in the race.”

Proctor, of Charlton, N.Y., held on for the runner-up spot with Roberts of Georgia the final podium finisher. Chazy, N.Y., veteran Leon Gonyo was fourth and Joe Williams of Scotia, N.Y., finished fifth after starting dead-last in the field. Cody Sargen, Jeff Haskins, Jamie Proctor, Andy Smith, and Dave Snow concluded the unofficial top-10.

Craig Bushey of Fairfax picked up his fourth points-counting victory of the season by taking the 30-lap Late Model feature by storm.

Dan Petronis and Matt White battled side-by-side, exchanging the race lead three times in the first eight-laps before Petronis brought out the first caution of the event by spinning out of second-place on lap 24.

Bushey continued his dominance at Devil’s Bowl by holding off multiple challengers after two more cautions occurring on laps 24 and 25.

White continued his string of podium finishes by taking second with Charlestown, N.H., competitor Bryan Town third. Scott Carpenter and Hunter Bates rounded out the top-five.

Milton’s Robert Gordon claimed the 15-lap Renegade feature after a spirited 10-lap side-by-side battle for the lead with Jeremy Jones. Jones missed the top spot by just a half car-length at the line with Bill Duprey finishing right on his back bumper.

It was a LaVair family affair in the ultra-competitive Bomber feature.

Bobby LaVair of Gabriels, N.Y., took home the checkers at Devil’s Bowl for the first time in over two years with father Harold LaVair finishing in the runner-up position and brother CJ LaVair in third.

Racing action continues at Devil’s Bowl Wednesday night for the Firecracker 44s for the Modifieds and Late Models. The Renegades and Bombers will also be on hand for the July 4 special. Post time is 5 p.m.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — Interstate All Battery Center of Rutland Night
NASCAR Whelen All-American Series — Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, Vt.
Friday, June 29, 2012

(# – denotes rookie)

Bond Auto Parts Modified Feature (35 laps)
1. Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon
2. Ron Proctor, Charlton, N.Y.
3. # Joey Roberts, Georgia
4. Leon Gonyo, Chazy, N.Y.
5. Joe Williams, Scotia, N.Y.
6. Cody Sargen, Greenfield Center, N.Y.
7. # Jeff Haskins, Wells
8. Jamie Proctor, Schuylerville, N.Y.
9. # Andy Smith, South Glens Falls, N.Y.
10. Dave Snow, Brandon

J&S Steel Late Models (30 laps)
1. Craig Bushey, Fairfax
2. Matt White, Northfield
3. Bryan Town, Charlestown
4. Scott Carpenter, Waterbury
5. # Robert Bryant, Jr., Brooklyn, Conn.
6. Kevin Elliott, Rutland
7. Hunter Bates, Middlebury
8. Dan Petronis, II, Mechanicville, N.Y.
9. Joey M. Laquerre, East Montpelier
10. Clem Despault, Waterbury

Renegade (15 laps)
1. Robert Gordon, Milton
2. Jeremy Jones, Leicester
3. Bill Duprey, Hydeville

Bomber (20 laps)
1. Bobby LaVair, Gabriels, N.Y.
2. Harold LaVair, Gabriels, N.Y.
3. Chris LaVair, Gabriels, N.Y.
4. Garrett Given, Cornwall
5. Mitchell Dundon, Orwell
6. # Josh Masterson, Bristol
7. Dan Collins, Rennselaer, N.Y.
8. # Gerald LaFlam, Hinesburg
9. # Anthony Alger, Warrensburg, N.Y.
10. # Kyle Watrous, Niantic, Conn.