PHOTO: The Vermont State Late Model Championship qualifying races featured some great racing, including this four-wide battle between Eric Chase (#40), Jim Morris (#13), Craig Bushey (#05), and Cris Michaud (#6). (Eric LaFleche/ photo)

Rescheduled for June 15; Masterson takes fourth Bomber feature win

–by T.J. Ingerson

WEST HAVEN — A heavy rain shower forced the postponement of the “I Am Vermont Strong 100” Vermont State Late Model Championship race Friday night at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. The rain moved onto the grounds of the speedway just as the final Late Model qualifying event was completed and has been rescheduled for next Friday night, June 15 at 7:00 pm. It will be the first race of the night.

A diverse field of 28 Late Models attempted to qualify for their starting positions. Jamie Fisher, Jean-Paul Cyr, and Ricky Rolfe were victorious in their heat races, while Chip Grenier scored the lone consolation race.

Lieutenant Governor Phil Scott will start on the pole in the “I Am Vermont Strong 100” after he scored a plus-four in his heat race. Veteran Brent Dragon will start to his outside, who also scored a plus-four. Last week’s Late Model feature winner at Devil’s Bowl, Brian Hoar, will start third, while last week’s runner-up, Craig Bushey, will start fourth. Dennis Demers will roll off from the fifth position.

Josh Masterson of Bristol scored his fourth Bomber win of the year in the only feature event run Friday night. Masterson was able to quickly work his way from his 11th starting position to move into second place by the end of the third lap. Masterson then worked his way into the lead on lap seven on the outside of Bobby LaVair. Masterson then held off LaVair after two caution periods with two laps remaining to claim another victory. LaVair, of Gabriels, N.Y., settled for second with John McCarron, of Rennselar, N.Y., finished third. Matt Monaghan, of Colchester, and Bobby’s father, Harold, completed the top five finishers.

Hunter Bates and Jeff Haskins were able to split the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified heat races, while Bill Duprey was victorious in the Renegade heat.

Race fans donated $567 in a 10-minute fundraising effort for the “I Am Vermont Strong’ organization and the Vermont Disaster Relief Fund.

The “I Am Vermont Strong 100” will start at 7:00 pm next Friday night, June 15. Speedway officials will announce additional details soon.

STARTING LINEUP — “I Am Vermont Strong 100”
Vermont State Late Model Championship — Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven
Friday, June 15, 2012

(# – denotes rookie)

1. Phil Scott, Berlin
2. Brent Dragon, Milton
3. Brian Hoar, Williston
4. Craig Bushey, Fairfax
5. Dennis Demers, Shelburne
6. Jean-Paul Cyr, Milton
7. Nick Sweet, Barre
8. Jamie Fisher, Shelburne
9. Ricky Rolfe, Albany Township, Maine
10. Joey Becker, Jeffersonville
11. Dave Pembroke, Middlesex
12. Emily Packard, East Montpelier
13. Chris Wilk, Mendon
14. Matt White, Northfield
15. Jimmy Hebert, Williamstown
16. Cris Michaud, East Montpelier
17. Spencer MacPherson, Carleton Place, Ont.
18. Scott Carpenter, Waterbury
19. Chip Grenier, Graniteville
20. Bryan Town, Charlestown, N.H.
21. # Dan Petronis, II, Mechanicville, N.Y.
22. Trampas Demers, South Burlington
23. Brooks Clark, Fayston
24. Jamie Aube, North Ferrisburg
25. Joey M. Laquerre, East Montpelier
26. Jim Morris, Barre
27. Dave Whitcomb, Essex Junction
28. Eric Chase, Milton

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — “I Am Vermont Strong” Benefit
NASCAR Whelen All-American Series — Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven
Friday, June 15, 2012

(# – denotes rookie)

Bond Auto Modifieds (35 laps)

Renegades (15 laps)

Bombers (15 laps)
1. 1. # Josh Masterson, Bristol
2. Bobby LaVair, Gabriels, N.Y.
3. John McCarron, Rennselaer, N.Y.
4. Matt Monaghan, Colchester
5. Harold LaVair, Gabriels, N.Y.
6. # Gerald LaFlam, Hinesburg
7. Ray Germain, Jr., Bristol
8. Dan Collins, Rennselaer, N.Y.
9. Jake Noble, Benson
10. Garrett Given, Cornwall