PHOTO: Jason Gray drives under the checkered flag to claim his first Bear Ridge DIRTcar Modified win of the season. (Alan Ward photo)

Pierson takes Coupes; Reynolds and King have memorable night

(From track press release)

BRADFORD — Jason Gray led a parade of stock car winners through victory lane at Bear Ridge Speedway on Wells River Chevrolet Night on Saturday. Gray was joined in the winner’s circle by Gene Pierson, Jordan Fornwalt, Rob Gioia, Don Reynolds, and Julie Stender.

Gray, of East Thetford, VT, dominated the 35-lap Bond Auto Parts DIRTcar Sportsman Modified feature for his fourth career win. He took the lead from former track champion Gary Siemons on lap 12 and cruised to the win. Dan Eastman of Thetford Center, VT flew up the outside lane from his ninth starting position to finish second, with Orford, NH driver Siemons third at the finish. Bryan King finished fourth. Josh Sunn crossed the finish line fifth but was disqualified in post-race inspection when his car failed to meet minimum weight; Jeff Elliott inherited the position.

Pierson ran to his first win of the year in the 30-lap Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe race. The East Corinth, VT driver held on despite constant pressure from sophomore driver Jason Colbeth of Newbury, VT. Colbeth matched his best career finish with Jason Horniak third. Tim Hodge and Mike McGinley completed the unofficial top five.

Fifteen year-old Jordan Fonrwalt of Bradford, VT won the 20-lap A Notch Above Limited Late Model race for his fifth career win and first of the year. Mike Greene of Pike, NH was the runner-up for the second week in a row with Matt Ellsworth, Jason Giguere, and Sam Comeau in tow.

Rob Gioia of East Thetford, VT scored his first feature win in six years in the 20-lap Weglarz Property Service Fast Four event. Gioia held off Danny Doyle for the win. Early leader Chuck Simmons recovered from a flat tire to finish third ahead of Steve Bell and Tim Martin.

Springfield, VT’s Don Reynolds started his big night by stealing the victory in the 20-lap KDD NAPA Auto Parts Hornet feature. Reynolds passed Mike Stender on the final lap for the win, and Eric Lang finished third. Reynolds’ night got even better in victory lane when proposed to longtime girlfriend Dawn King, who accepted amidst a roaring grandstand crowd. King continued the couple’s night by finishing as the runner-up to Julie Stender in the Hornet Queen feature.

Bear Ridge Speedway’s 45th season of stock car racing continues with the Vermont Foodbank benefit night presented by R&M Automotive Service of North Haverhill, NH. Race fans who donate a minimum of three (3) non-perishable food items to the Vermont Foodbank will receive a $2 discount on general admission.

General admission is $10 for adults (age 18-61), $8 for teens (12-17) and seniors (62+), and $2 for children. Season passes are also available; Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.

Bear Ridge Speedway is located on Kidder Road in Bradford, VT, just off Exit 16 on Interstate 91. For more information, call (802) 222-4052 or visit

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — Wells River Chevrolet Night
Bear Ridge Speedway, Bradford, VT
Saturday, May 12, 2012

(# – denotes rookie)

Bond Auto DIRTcar Sportsman Modified (35 laps)
1. Jason Gray, East Thetford
2. Dan Eastman, Thetford Center
3. Gary Siemons, Orford, N.H.
4. Bryan King, Corinth
5. Jeff Elliott, Benton, N.H.
6. Kevin Chaffee, Fairlee
7. Derek Graham, Woodsville, N.H.
8. Richie Simmons, Bradford
9. Jack Cook, Moultonboro, N.H.
10. Mike Dunn, North Haverhill, N.H.

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe (30 laps)
1. Gene Pierson, Jr., East Corinth
2. Jason Colbeth, Newbury
3. Jason Horniak, Bradford
4. Tim Hodge, Vershire
5. Mike McGinley, East Barre
6. Teddy Salomaa, Bradford
7. Josh Harrington, Topsham
8. Terry Williams, Wells River
9. Steve Ellsworth, Corinth
10. Jeff Robbins, Woodsville, N.H.

A Notch Above Automotive Limited Late Model (20 laps)
1. Jordan Fornwalt, Bradford
2. Mike Greene, Jr., Pike, N.H.
3. Matt Ellsworth, Corinth
4. Jason Giguere, Enfield, N.H.
5. # Sam Comeau, Rumney, N.H.

Weglarz Property Service Fast Four (20 laps)
1. Rob Gioia, East Thetford
2. Danny Doyle, Barre
3. Chuck Simmons, Bradford
4. Steve Bell, St. Johnsbury
5. Tim Martin, White River Junction

KDD NAPA Auto Parts Hornet (20 laps)
1. Don Reynolds, Springfield
2. Mike Stender, South Strafford
3. Eric Lang, Groton
4. Brent Warren, Salisbury
5. Mike Ryan

Hornet Queen (6 laps)
1. Julie Stender, South Strafford