PHOTO: Joe Krawiec (center) celebrates his USAC Dirt Midget Association victory at Bear Ridge with car owner Skip Matczak (2nd from left) and team on Saturday. Krawiec also won the track championship in the division’s first season. (Alan Ward photo)

(From track press release)

BRADFORD — Joe Krawiec made history at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford on Mekkelsen RV Night on Saturday by clinching the inaugural USAC Dirt Midget Association championship. Known as “Flat Foot” for his all-out driving style, Bristol, Conn., driver Krawiec bookended his season by winning the season opener on May 28 and the final point-counting race on Saturday.

All told, Krawiec won four of the seven USAC/DMA races. Scott Holcomb of Granby, Conn., finished second in the race and in the championship. Tony Montessi of Roxbury, Conn., was third in the 25-lap race, followed by Dana Shaw and Jamie Spalding.

The youth movement was in full force at Mekkelsen RV Night, as youngsters Jordan Fornwalt, Kodie Pittman, and Dylan Rock each landed in the winner’s circle. Fornwalt, 14, of Bradford, posted his third win of the year in the 20-lap A Notch Above Automotive Limited Late Model feature. Fornwalt beat Robert Tucker of East Corinth and Tyler Stygles of Bradford for the win.

Corinth driver Pittman, 14, took his third win of the year in the Hornet Stinger youth division, and fellow 14 year-old Travis King, also of Corinth, finished second in the race and won the championship. Geoff Durphey of Springfield was third in the race.

At just 11 years old, Enfield, N.H., driver Rock earned his first career win in the Granite State Mini Sprint 500cc division, stealing the lead from Troy Boissoneau on the final corner of the 20-lap race. Lacey Hanson finished third.

Dan Eastman of Thetford Center picked up his second Bond Auto Parts DIRTcar Sportsman Modified win of the season in a 30-lap feature for the headline division. Eastman used a late restart to get past Justin Comes of Middlebury for the lead and cruised to the win. Comes held off charges from Adam Pierson of Fairlee and Jason Gray of East Thetford for second. Bryan King of Corinth rounded out the unofficial top five.

Eastman’s win gives him a guaranteed starting berth in the second annual New England Dirt Track Championships presented by The Home Depot, Lake Sunapee Savings Bank, and Gary’s Tire & Auto of Claremont. The $1,000-to-win race for DIRTcar-legal Sportsman Modifieds will be held on Saturday, September 24.

Gene Pierson, Jr., of East Corinth made it a half-dozen victories with a dominant win in the Sportsman Coupe class. Josh Harrington of Topsham took second place after a late pass of rookie Jeff Robbins. Robbins, a rookie from Woodsville, N.H., got his best career finish in third place, followed by Bob Shepard and Jeremy Beckley.

Travis Hull of Graniteville held off Danny Doyle of Barre for his fourth Fast Four win of the campaign, with point leader Kevin Harran of St. Johnsbury third. Dave Durkee, Sr., and Steve Bell were next in line.

Eric Lang of Groton took his ninth Hornet win of the year over South Strafford’s Mike Stender and Tom Placey of Bradford. Andy Mooney was fourth with Don Reynolds fifth.

Rich Crooker of Nashua, N.H., posted his sixth 600cc Mini Sprint win of the season over Jake Williams of Center Tuftonboro, N.H., and rookie Scott Preston of Monkton.

Bear Ridge Speedway is back in action on Saturday, September 17 as 99ROCK presents a double-points program for the 99ROCK Weekly Racing Series, plus the championship finale for the Hornet Queen division and the final Northeast Mini Sprint race of the year. An $800-to-win Demolition Derby presented by KDD NAPA Auto Parts of Bradford is also on the card. Racing action begins at 6:00pm.

Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, Vt.
Saturday, September 10, 2011

(# – denotes rookie)

USAC Dirt Midget Association (25 laps)
1. Joe Krawiec, Bristol, Conn.
2. Scott Holcomb, Granby, Conn.
3. Tony Montesi, Roxbury, Conn.
4. Dana Shaw, Plainfield, Conn.
5. Jamie Spalding, Chaplin, Conn.
6. Ray Miller, East Granby, Conn.
7. David Rose, Jr., Keene, N.H.
8. Tim Gallant, Wales, Mass.
9. Hank Rogers, Jr., Scott Run, Pa.
10. Denny Zimmerman, Glastonbury, Conn.

Bond Auto DIRTcar Sportsman Modified (30 laps)
1. Dan Eastman, Thetford Center
2. Justin Comes, Middlebury
3. Adam Pierson, Fairlee
4. Jason Gray, East Thetford
5. Bryan King, Corinth
6. Mike Dunn, North Haverhill, N.H.
7. Arnie Stygles, Bradford
8. Jeff Elliott, Benton, N.H.
9. Kevin Chaffee, Fairlee
10. Jim Elliott, North Haverhill, N.H.

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe (25 laps)
1. Gene Pierson, Jr., East Corinth
2. Josh Harrington, Topsham
3. # Jeff Robbins, Woodsville, N.H.
4. Bob Shepard, West Topsham
5. Jeremy Beckley, Woodsville, N.H.
6. Melvin Pierson, East Corinth
7. Steve Ellsworth, Corinth
8. Shane Race, South Strafford
9. Terry Williams, Wells River
10. # Jason Colbeth, Newbury

A Notch Above Automotive Limited Late Model (20 laps)
1. # Jordan Fornwalt, Bradford
2. Robert Tucker, East Corinth
3. Tyler Stygles, Bradford
4. Jeremy Hodge, Newbury
5. Richie Simmons, Bradford

Weglarz Property Service Fast Four (20 laps)
1. Travis Hull, Graniteville
2. Danny Doyle, Barre
3. Kevin Harran, St. Johnsbury
4. Dave Durkee, Sr., Tunbridge
5. Steve Bell, St. Johnsbury

KDD NAPA Auto Parts Hornet (20 laps)
1. Eric Lang, Groton
2. Mike Stender, South Strafford
3. Tom Placey, Bradford
4. Andy Mooney, Danville
5. Don Reynolds, Springfield

Hornet Stinger (10 laps)
1. Kodie Pittman, Corinth
2. Travis King, Corinth
3. Geoff Durphey, Springfield

Granite State Mini Sprint 600cc (20 laps)
1. Rich Crooker, Nashua, N.H.
2. Jake Williams, Center Tuftonboro, N.H.
3. # Scott Preston, Monkton

Granite State Mini Sprint 500cc (20 laps)
1. # Dylan Rock, Enfield, N.H.
2. Troy Boissoneau, Bedford, N.H.
3. Lacey Hanson, Orwell