PHOTO: Joe Williams holds up six fingers to signify his CVRA win streak in the NASCAR Modified division after a victory at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Sunday. (CVRA photo)

(From track press release)

WEST HAVEN — Joe Williams ran his Champlain Valley Racing Association winning streak to six races Sunday night when he picked up his second straight victory in the NASCAR Modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Williams, who has also won four in a row at Albany-Saratoga (N.Y.) Speedway, started in the front row with veteran Mike Bruno by virtue of the heads-up start, and with the feature going green to checkers, there was plenty of action.

Early in the race, Billy Mueller bounced off the frontstretch wall, but got into the pits to keep the feature under green. Bruno got out to a quick lead, but Williams was hanging right on his rear bumper.

By lap 10, Williams got a nose in front of Bruno, but couldn’t make the pass because lapped traffic was already in play.

But the next time around, Williams was able to get around Bruno. Bruno refused to go away, and with five to go, gave Williams a good tap, just to let him know he was still there. But Williams, who has already said he has his sights set on the NASCAR Vermont state championship, held his ground and recorded his sixth overall win of the year, with Bruno second and Don Miller, who ran a strong race, third. Defending CVRA Driver of the Year Hunter Bates was fourth, but came up light on the scales and was placed last. That moved Ron Proctor and Bobby Hackel, IV, into the top five.

In Williams’ one other CVRA start in 2011, he finished second in the season opener at Albany-Saratoga on April 23.

It was an extremely busy day for Bruno, who earlier in the day had been in Canaan, N.H., for a make-up Late Model race. He brought the same car to Devil’s Bowl and then took it to victory lane in the Pro Late Model feature.

After starting in the front row, he dominated the feature, keeping a comfortable distance between himself and the second-place car of Chris Wilk. When the checkers flew, it was Bruno getting his first win of the campaign, followed by Wilk and Dan Petronis, who had won his first career feature Friday night at Albany-Saratoga.

Bill Duprey picked up his third straight win in the Renegade division. Duprey and Frank Monroe ran side-by-side for the first eight laps,with Duprey sticking to the top, and he took the lead for good on lap nine. Monroe settled for second, with Jeremy Jones third.

The Bomber Warriors were also in action Sunday, with Matt Monaghan taking the checkered flag.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, Vt.
Sunday, June 5, 2011


NASCAR Modified
1. Joe Williams, Schenectady, N.Y.
2. Mike Bruno, Rutland
3. Don Miller, Wells
4. Ron Proctor, Clifton Park, N.Y.
5. Bobby Hackel, IV, East Greenbush, N.Y.
6. Alex Bell, Cambridge, N.Y.
7. John Proctor, Clifton Park, N.Y.
8. Kevin Wright, Queensbury, N.Y.
9. Jessey Mueller, Olmstedville, N.Y.
10. Fred Proctor, Clifton Park, N.Y.

Pro Late Model
1. Mike Bruno, Rutland
2. Chris Wlik, Mendon
3. Dan Petronis, Mechanicville, N.Y.
4. Hunter Bates, Pittsford
5. Kayla Bryant, Mt. Holly

1. Bill Duprey, Hydeville
2. Frank Monroe, Granville, N.Y.
3. Jeremy Jones, Leicester

Bomber Warrior
1. Matt Monaghan, Colchester