WEST HAVEN — Don Scarborough completed a weekend sweep on the Champlain Valley Racing Association circuit Sunday, coming away with his second win of the year in the 30-lap Modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Scarborough, having a lot of success in a new Bicknell chassis he brought out a couple of weeks ago, took the lead away from Leon Gonyo on lap 18, and worked his way through lapped traffic in the closing laps to come away with the victory.

Gonyo had started on the pole and had his hands full early, trying to work the low line to hold off Scarborough, who was relentless in his pursuit. Ken Tremont Jr., who had started fifth, was also stalking the leaders, waiting for a mistake.

After Scarborough, who had recorded his first win of the year on Friday night at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, made the pass for the lead and got into lapped traffic, Tremont was able to close the gap on both Scarborough and Gonyo, but couldn’t gain enough momentum to make a move.

Matt Depew and Tim LaDuc came together on lap 21, with Laduc spinning out. Both cars went to the pits, as did Mike Bruno, who had a tire going down.

When the checkered flag fell, Scarborough was still on the point, with Gonyo and Tremont trailing. Marc Johnson and Seth Roberts completed the top five.

The largest field of the season, 16 cars, took the green for the Sportsman feature, and the bulkier field made for two quick yellows, and a single-file restart. The only car that didn’t make the feature was Jack Swinton, who had mechanical problems during his heat.

Joey Trudeau moved out front early, but on lap 10, Don Miller, who had started 10th, rocketed by Trudeau for the lead. Easily moving out to a five-car length lead, Miller left Hunter Bates and Chris Johnson to battle for second.

Miller again overpowered the field, chalking up his sixth win of the season. Bates and Johnson crossed the finish line second and third, respectively, but Johnson was later disqualified for having an illegal carburetor. That moved Trudeau up to third, with Jared McMahon fourth and Andy Durie fifth.

Chris Wilk won the third leg of the Pro Stock/Super Street Challenge. Interestingly, Wilk is the man who paved the speedway and was instrumental in helping promoter Jerry Richards with the layout and progressive banking.

Bill Duprey got his second win of the campaign in the Renegade feature, and Chad Brown made his way to victory lane for the sixth time in the Bomber Warriors.

Devil’s Bowl will be holding Hometown Heroes Night on Sunday, Aug. 6, with all police, fire, and rescue personnel being admitted free of charge with proper I.D. All divisions will be in action, and there will be a 60-lap enduro for four- and six-cylinder cars. Racing begins at 6pm.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, Vt.
Sunday, Aug. 1, 2010


1. Don Scarborough, Brandon
2. Leon Gonyo, West Chazy, N.Y.
3. Kenny Tremont, Jr., West Sand Lake, N.Y.
4. Marc Johnson, Guilderland, N.Y.
5. Seth Roberts, Averill Park, N.Y.
6. Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon
7. Don Mattison, Wells
8. Tim LaDuc, Orwell
9. Mike Bruno, Bomoseen
10. Ray Martindale

1. Don Miller, Wells
2. Hunter Bates, Middlebury
3. Joey Trudeau, Hague, N.Y.
4. Jared McMahon, Hydeville
5. Andy Durie, Stillwater, N.Y.

Pro Stock/Super Street Challenge
1. Chris Wilk, Mendon
2. Kim Duell, Porter Corners, N.Y.
3. Mike Paquin, Greenwich, N.Y.
4. Kayla Bryant, Mt. Holly
5. Jeremy Houghtaling, Malta, N.Y.

1. Bill Duprey, Hydeville
2. Frank Monroe, Granville, N.Y.
3. Cody Benoit, Milton
4. Jon Miller, Malta, N.Y.
5. Jeremy Jones, Brandon

Bomber Warrior
1. Chad Brown, Essex Junction
2. Nate Woodworth, Essex Junction
3. Kalob Gagnon
4. David Tomczak, Essex Junction
5. Tyler Lescord, Ascutney

Duke Stock
1. Garrett Given, Cornwall
2. Scott Atwood, Castleton
3. Brian Bishop, Jr.