BARRE — Taber Gagne walked away with $3,000 after surviving the 26th annual M&M Beverage Enduro at Barre’s Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl on Sunday night. Gagne, a former Late Model and Tiger Sportsman standout from Swanton, drove a Chevrolet Lumina to the win, defeating 103 other drivers in the 200-lap amateur race.

Terry Pearce, Sr., of Middlesex, finished two laps behind Gagne, was the runner-up. Paul Dudley of Waitsfield, with 197 laps completed, was third. Alex Perkins and Jason Woodard rounded out the top five, followed by Steve Miller, Steve Quenneville, Brian Ouellette, David Hathaway, and Travis Burbank.

Tim Campbell of West Topsham won a 50-lap special event for Street Stocks and Junkyard Warriors. Campbell beat Mike MacAskill of Williamstown and Garry Bashaw of Lincoln. MacAskill’s runner-up finish was his fourth-straight appearance on the podium, and Bashaw was third for the third consecutive event. Campbell’s win was his fifth of the year.

Jean LeBlanc and Ron Gabaree were fourth and fifth, followed by Billy Hennequin, Greg Adams, Jr., rookie Donny Yates, Dave Whitcomb, and Danny Doyle.

Ken Christman of Cabot was the top Junkyard Warrior for his ninth win of the season in that division. Christman is one victory away from tying the Thunder Road single-season record of ten victories, set in 1961 by Roy Forsythe. Brock Parrott was the Warrior runner-up with Kevin Wheatley third.

Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl, Barre, Vt.
Sunday, August 8, 2010


M&M Beverage Enduro 200
1. Taber Gagne, Swanton
2. Terry Pearce, Sr., Middlesex
3. Paul Dudley, Waitsfield
4. Alex Perkins, North Pomfret
5. Jason Woodard, Waterbury Center
6. Steve Miller, Vergennes
7. Steve Quenneville, Barre
8. Brian Ouellette, Barre
9. David Hathaway, Colchester
10. Travis Burbank, Marshfield

Allen Lumber Street Stock/Junkyard Warrior (50 laps)
1. Tim Campbell, West Topsham (SS)
2. Mike MacAskill, Williamstown (SS)
3. Garry Bashaw, Lincoln (SS)
4. Jean LeBlanc, Gorham, N.H. (SS)
5. Ron Gabaree, Barre (SS)

13. Ken Christman, Cabot (JW)
16. Brock Parrott, Williamstown (JW)
18. Kevin Wheatley, Williamstown (JW)