BARRE — Graniteville’s John Donahue became the first two-time Late Model winner in regular season events at Thunder Road on Thursday, dominating the special 55-lap Aaron’s Sales & Leasing Night feature. Donahue’s No. 26 National Guard Ford started sixth on the 21-car field and took the lead from Dave Whitcomb, then cruised to the win.

Point leaders Phil Scott, Nick Sweet, and Dave Pembroke finished 2-3-4 to keep the championship battle tight. Pembroke now leads Sweet by six points, 911-905, with Scott 22 points out of the lead and two championship races remaining.

Matt White finished fifth in the race, followed by Mike Bailey, Jamie Fisher, Joey Becker, rookie Cody Blake, and Reno Gervais.

Hometown racer Lance Allen picked up the Tiger Sportsman victory after a long battle with George May. A late restart saw May fade to sixth, opening the door for Derrick O’Donnell to slide into second. David Finck was third with rookie Jason Allen fourth and Tony Rossi fifth.

With point leader Eric Badore finishing 20th, Finck assumed the point lead over O’Donnell, 778-763. Rossi moved up to third place (757), while Badore fell to fourth overall (753).

Scott Weston of Berlin inherited his first career Street Stock victory after apparent winner Travis Hull was disqualified for illegal suspension parts in post-race inspection. Danny Doyle moved up to second place, followed by rookies Sid Sweet and Tom Placey, with Jamie Davis fifth.

Hull, who entered the race third in points, lost all points and purse from the event and will be penalized an additional 100 points.

Barre’s Kevin Dodge took his fourth Junkyard Warrior win over Tommy Elwood and Ken Christman.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — Aaron’s Sales & Leasing Night
Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl, Barre, Vt.
Thursday, August 12, 2010

# – denotes rookie

ACT Late Model (55 laps)
1. John Donahue, Graniteville
2. Phil Scott, Montpelier
3. Nick Sweet, Barre
4. Dave Pembroke, Middlesex
5. Matt White, Northfield
6. Mike Bailey, South Barre
7. Jamie Fisher, Shelburne
8. Joey Becker, Jeffersonville
9. # Cody Blake, Barre
10. Reno Geravis, Island Pond

Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman (35 laps)
1. Lance Allen, Barre
2. Derrick O’Donnell, Bradford
3. David Finck, Barre
4. # Jason Allen, Barre
5. Tony Rossi, Peacham
6. George May, Barre
7. Tom Therrien, Hinesburg
8. Pete Ainsworth, Jr., Middlesex
9. Jimmy Hebert, Williamstown
10. Ricky Roberts, Washington

Allen Lumber Street Stock/Junkyard Warrior (25 laps)
1. Scott Weston, Berlin (SS)
2. Danny Doyle, Hancock (SS)
3. # Sid Sweet, Jr., Williamstown (SS)
4. # Tom Placey, Bradford (SS)
5. Jamie Davis, Wolcott (SS)

19. Kevin Dodge, Barre (JW)
21. Tommy Elwood, Morrisville (JW)
22. Ken Christman, Cabot (JW)

DQ — Travis Hull, Graniteville (SS)