BARRE — On Sunday John Donahue sat wrecked in the wall. On Thursday he sat in victory lane at Thunder Road amidst a chorus of boos.

Donahue drove up the outside lane from his eighth starting position in the 50-lap Charter Communications event to pass Brooks Clark for second on lap 28. From there he was nearly a quarter-lap behind leader Eric Chase until a caution bunched the field on lap 37.

Chase was able to lead one more lap after the restart before Donahue’s #26 National Guard Ford took over and sped to the win. The Graniteville driver was not warmly received by the Thunder Road faithful.

“I just want to thank the fans that boo me, because if they’re booing me that means they’re paying attention whether they like me or not,” Donahue grinned in victory lane. “That’s a good thing.”

As Chase faded to sixth late in the going, former track champion Tracie Bellerose of Gorham, N.H., made her way past Clark for the runner-up spot. Clark, of Fayston, posted a career-best third, with Phil Scott and point leader Dave Pembroke behind him. Rookie Cody Blake, Joey Becker, Cris Michaud, and Nick Sweet completed the top ten behind Chase.

Derrick O’Donnell of Bradford earned his second Tiger Sportsman victory of the season after dispatching of leaders Jeff Bousquet and George May on lap 22. May held on for the runner-up finish with Joe Steffen, Eric Badore, and David Finck rounding out the top five.

Randolph’s Eric Johnson posted his second Street Stock victory of the year over Tommy Smith and Paul Giacherio. Cabot racer Ken Christman took his sixth Junkyard Warrior win of the year and moved into first place all-time in the division with nine career wins. Brock Parrott and Kevin Dodge completed the Warrior podium.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — Charter Communications Night
Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl, Barre, Vt.
Thursday, July 08, 2010

# – denotes rookie

ACT Late Model (50 laps)
1. John Donahue, Graniteville
2. Tracie Bellerose, Gorham, N.H.
3. Brooks Clark, Fayston
4. Phil Scott, Montpelier
5. Dave Pembroke, Middlesex
6. Eric Chase, Burlington
7. # Cody Blake, Barre
8. Joey Becker, Jeffersonville
9. Cris Michaud, Northfield
10. Nick Sweet, Barre

Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman (35 laps)
1. Derrick O’Donnell, Bradford
2. George May, Barre
3. Joe Steffen, Essex Junction
4. Eric Badore, Milton
5. David Finck, Barre
6. Jimmy Hebert, Williamstown
7. Mike Ziter, Williamstown
8. Tony Rossi, Peacham
9. Shawn Fleury, Middlesex
10. Tom Therrien, Hinesburg

Allen Lumber Street Stock/Junkyard Warrior (25 laps)
1. Eric Johnson, Randolph (SS)
2. Tommy Smith, Williamstown (SS)
3. Paul Giacherio, Washington (SS)
4. Dan Lathrop, Hyde Park (SS)
5. Dave Whitcomb, Elmore (SS)

14. Ken Christman, Cabot (JW)
18. Brock Parrott, Williamstown (JW)
25. Kevin Dodge, Barre (JW)