(From series press release)

SCARBOROUGH, Me. — Joey “Pole” Polewarczyk, Jr., of Hudson, N.H., earned Ford its first ACT Late Model Tour win at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough, Me., on Saturday. Polewarczyk moved from his fourth starting position to take the lead on lap 14. He held the lead and lapped the majority of the field until lap 83.

On the lap 83 restart Polewarczyk lost the lead to Farmington, Me.’s Jeff Taylor, who also competes with a Ford crate engine. Taylor held onto the lead for 13 laps before Polewarczyk took back over for good. Taylor remained in second until he blew a tire with just under 20 laps remaining.

Polewarczyk held off rookie and fellow Ford crate motor competitor Austin Theriault, who picked up his best career ACT finish with a second. Tim Brackett took third, Corey Morgan fourth, and John Donahue with another Ford earned fifth.

Current point leader Brian Hoar took sixth, Eric Williams seventh, Brent Dragon eighth, Dave Paya ninth, and Brad Babb rounded out the top ten.

The top ten were the only cars to complete all 150 laps. The race was completed in one hour and fourteen minutes with six cautions.

Polewarczyk becomes the eighth driver to earn an invitation to the second annual ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 18. He joins Nick Sweet, Eddie MacDonald, Brian Hoar, Dave Pembroke, Miles Chipman, Karl Allard and Patrick Laperle on the invite list. He is the first Ford driver to earn an invite.

The ACT Late Model Tour will be back in action Friday, July 30, at Twin State Speedway in Claremont, N.H., for a 100 lap event.

ACT Late Model Tour — Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, Scarborough, Me.
Saturday, July 24, 2010

# – denotes rookie

1. Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Hudson, N.H.
2. # Austin Theriault, Fort Kent, Me.
3. Tim Brackett, Buckfield, Me.
4. Corey Morgan, Lewiston, Me.
5. John Donahue, Graniteville
6. Brian Hoar, Williston
7. Eric Williams, Hyde Park
8. Brent Dragon, Milton
9. # Dave Paya, Milton
10. # Brad Babb, Windham, Me.
11. Jeff Labrecque, Rochester, N.H.
12. Travis Adams, Canton, Me.
13. Dennis Spencer, Jr., Oxford, Me.
14. Shawn Martin, Turner, Me.
15. Ben Ashline, Pittston, Me.
16. Craig Bushey, Cambridge
17. Bill Whorff, Jr., Topsham, Me.
18. Pete Potvin, III, Graniteville
19. Derek Lynch, Warkworth, Ont.
20. Joey Laquerre, East Montpelier
21. Scott Payea, Milton
22. Jeff Taylor, Farmington, Me.
23. Randy Potter, Groveton, N.H.
24. J.R. Baril, Haverhill, Mass.
25. Ricky Rolfe, Albany Twp., Me.
26. Mark Hayward, Newport, N.H.
27. Glen Luce, Turner, Me.
28. Gregory Peters, Westbrook, Me.
29. Mark Lamberton, Mooers Forks, N.Y.
30. Scott Dragon, Colchester
31. # Chris Riendeau, Ascutney
32. Dale Verrill, South Paris, Me.
33. Jeff Zuidema, North Brookfield, Mass.

PHOTO: Joey Polewarczyk celebrates his American-Canadian Tour win at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, the first ACT victory for Ford. (Leif Tillotson photo)