WEST HAVEN — It was all Vince Quenneville, Jr., until the yellow flag flew late at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Sunday night.

The Brandon driver diced for the top spot with Jimmy Ryan before taking the lead after a lap-14 restart in the 30-lap Modified event. Mike Bruno got by Ryan two laps later for second place, but Quenneville opened up a large lead and seemingly had the race in hand. When Bruno’s tire blew with five laps remaining, though, Quenneville’s lead was gone.

Enter defending track champion Kenny Tremont.

Tremont had settled into third place after passing Ryan on lap 19, but was running far behind the leaders and was prepared to stay in that position before Bruno’s misfortune. After the restart, Tremont followed Quenneville for two laps, ran side-by-side with him for two laps, then took the lead as the white flag flew and ran to his third win of the year.

“We got into third and I think if the race had gone green from that point on we probably would have been about a third-place car,” said Tremont, of West Sand Lake, N.Y. “Mike Bruno had blown his right-rear tire, so that kind of tightened me up against the leader [and] kind of changed the whole complexion of the race. Without that I don’t think we could have done it. Vince was really running very good.”

Quenneville admitted that he might have given the race away on the lap-25 restart.

“That was the driver getting away,” said Quenneville, a multi-time dirt track champion in his first year of asphalt racing. “I have an awful problem on restarts. I get up on the wheel and I keep driving it in the corners too deep and the car gets upset and I have to try to make up ground, and then, of course, I try to make it up again the next lap. That’s the old dirt track driver in me. It’s part of the learning process.”

Marc Johnson of Guilderland, N.Y., recovered from a wild spin off the backstretch on lap 8 to finish third, Whiting driver Ryan was fourth, and Leon Gonyo of West Chazy, N.Y., was fifth. Don Scarborough, Seth Roberts, Tim LaDuc, a recovered Bruno, and Andy Heywood completed the top ten.

Teenager Hunter Bates of Middlebury earned his first Devil’s Bowl win of the season in the Sportsman division after moving around Joey Trudeau of Hague, N.Y., for the lead on lap 8 of the 25-lap feature. Hydeville’s Jared McMahon was third, followed by Chris Johnson and Don Miller.

Malta, N.Y., driver Jon Miller won his fifth-straight Renegade feature, with Frank Monroe, Larry Underwood, Chris Murray, and Bill Duprey the top five. Chad Brown of Essex Junction took his fifth Bomber Warrior win of the year over Brent Warren and Justin Lilly. Garrett Given of Cornwall was the Duke Stock winner.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS — LaValley Building Supply Night
Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, Vt.
Sunday, July 11, 2010


1. Kenny Tremont, Jr., West Sand Lake, N.Y.
2. Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon
3. Marc Johnson, Guilderland, N.Y.
4. Jimmy Ryan, Whiting
5. Leon Gonyo, West Chazy, N.Y.
6. Don Scarborough, Brandon
7. Seth Roberts, West Sand Lake, N.Y.
8. Tim LaDuc, Orwell
9. Mike Bruno, Bomoseen
10. Andy Heywood, Morrisonville, N.Y.

1. Hunter Bates, Middlebury
2. Joey Trudeau, Hague, N.Y.
3. Jared McMahon, Hydeville
4. Chris Johnson, Schenectady, N.Y.
5. Don Miller, Wells
6. Alex Bell, Cambridge, N.Y.
7. John Reome, Corinth
8. Paul Braymer, Granville, N.Y.
9. Tom Lilly, Castleton
10. Matt Atwood

1. Jon Miller, Malta, N.Y.
2. Frank Monroe, Granville, N.Y.
3. Larry Underwood, Milton
4. Chris Murray, Fair Haven
5. Bill Duprey, Hydeville

Bomber Warrior
1. Chad Brown, Essex Junction
2. Brent Warren, Salisbury
3. Justin Lilly, Castleton
4. Nate Woodworth, Essex Junction
5. Jeremy Hayes, Queensbury, N.Y.

Duke Stock
1. Garrett Given, Cornwall
2. Erika Lilly, Castleton
3. Whitney Martel, Granville, N.Y.

1. Kenny Tremont, Jr.’s win at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Sunday was the 292nd overall victory of his career.