WEST HAVEN — Defending track champion Kenny Tremont, Jr., returned to victory lane at Devil’s Bowl Speedway in West Haven on Sunday evening, taking his first Modified win on the new asphalt surface and the 65th Devil’s Bowl victory of his career.

Tremont, of West Sand Lake, N.Y., led every one of the race’s 30 laps and was never seriously challenged for the top spot during the caution-free event.

Brandon’s Don Scarborough was the runner-up, with Airborne Speedway promoter Mike Perrotte of Plattsburgh, N.Y., third. Mike Bruno of Bomoseen, the winner a week ago, came through traffic to finish fourth, with Marc Johnson of Guilderland, N.Y., fifth.

Chris Johnson of Malta, N.Y., drove to his first career Sportsman win in a wild finish. With two laps remaining, leader Fred Proctor made contact with the lapped car of Paul Braymer, allowing Hunter Bates to grab the lead. Bates then made contact with Braymer a half-lap later, sending all three into the wall.

Johnson inherited the lead, denying Don Miller his fourth-straight win. Miller, of Wells, was second, with Cullen Howe of South Londonderry third, Paul Dunham, Jr., of Queensbury, N.Y., fourth and Jared McMahon of Hydeville fifth.

Twin State (N.H.) Speedway drivers Scott MacMichael of New London, N.H., and Russ Davis of Cavendish finished 1-2 in the special 20-lap Pro Stock/Super Street Challenge event, with Malta, N.Y.’s Mike Scorzelli, a regular at both Albany-Saratoga (N.Y.) Speedway and Thompson (Conn.) Int’l Speedway, third.

Malta, N.Y., driver Jon Miller won his second-straight Renegade feature over Randy Alger and Dave Emigh, and Canaan Fair (N.H.) Speedway regular Tyler Lescord of Ascutney won the Bomber Warrior race in his first Devil’s Bowl start.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, Vt.
Sunday, June 20, 2010

# – denotes rookie

1. Kenny Tremont, Jr., West Sand Lake, N.Y.
2. Don Scarborough, Brandon
3. Mike Perrotte, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
4. Mike Bruno, Bomoseen
5. Marc Johnson, Guilderland, N.Y.
6. Derrick McGrew, Ballston Spa, N.Y.
7. Leon Gonyo, Chazy, N.Y.
8. Don Mattison, Wells
9. Tim LaDuc, Orwell
10. Jimmy Ryan, Whiting

1. Chris Johnson, Malta, N.Y.
2. Don Miller, Wells
3. Cullen Howe, South Londonderry
4. Paul Dunham, Jr., Queensbury, N.Y.
5. Jared McMahon, Hydeville

1. Jon Miller, Malta, N.Y.
2. Randy Alger, Fair Haven
3. Dave Emigh, Ballston Spa, N.Y.
4. Frank Monroe
5. Chris Murray

Pro Stock/Super Street Challenge
1. Scott MacMichael, New London, N.H.
2. Russ Davis, Cavendish
3. Mike Scorzelli, Malta, N.Y.
4. Chris Wilk, Mendon
5. Shelton Martin