WEST HAVEN — Mike Bruno and Kenny Tremont, Jr., have been melting the new asphalt at the Champlain Valley Racing Association’s sister tracks this season, and Sunday’s Modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway was no different.

Bruno, of Castleton, used a front-row starting position to get an early lead in the 30-lap race, then held off defending track champion Tremont for the win.

Bruno already has a pair of wins at Albany-Saratoga Speedway in Malta, N.Y., under CVRA sanction; Tremont won there on June 4 and was the runner-up on Friday night.

West Sand Lake, N.Y., racer Tremont avoided trouble in the early going as Marc Johnson and polesitter Tim LaDuc spun, but was unable to make a move on Bruno for the lead.

Airborne Speedway regular Patrick Dupree of Saranac Lake, N.Y., was third with Brandon’s Don Scarborough fourth and Friday night Albany-Saratoga winner Jimmy Ryan of Whiting fifth.

Don Miller of Wells kept his unbeaten streak alive in the Sportsman class, taking his third win of the young season. Alex Bell of Cambridge, N.Y., finished second over Middlebury youngster Hunter Bates, with Fred Proctor and Chris Johnson fourth and fifth, respectively.

Jon Miller of Malta, N.Y., won the Renegade feature for his first win of the season, with Airborne regulars Kenny St. Germain and Rob Gordon second and third. Like Don Miller in the Sportsman class, Milton’s Chad Brown remains unbeaten in the Bomber Warriors, taking the win over Nathan Woodworth and Brent Warren. Jason Barrett was the Duke Stock winner.

Kids Night will be held on Sunday, June 20, with kids’ rides and a driver autograph session. In addition to the regular CVRA divisions, a 20-lap Pro Stock/Super Street Challenge paying $250 to win will be on the card. Kids’ rides will begin at 5:00pm with racing at 6:00pm.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, Vt.
Sunday, June 13, 2010


1. Mike Bruno, Castleton
2. Kenny Tremont, Jr., West Sand Lake, N.Y.
3. Patrick Dupree, Saranac Lake, N.Y.
4. Don Scarborough, Brandon
5. Jimmy Ryan, Whiting
6. Mike Perrotte, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
7. Derrick McGrew, Ballston Spa, N.Y.
8. Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon
9. Tim LaDuc, Orwell
10. Jeremy Markle

1. Don Miller, Wells
2. Alex Bell, Cambridge, N.Y.
3. Hunter Bates, Middlebury
4. Fred Proctor, Clifton Park, N.Y.
5. Chris Johnson, Malta, N.Y.

1. Jon Miller, Malta, N.Y.
2. Ken St, Germaine, Jr., Plattsburgh, N.Y.
3. Rob Gordon, Milton
4. Chris Murray
5. Brian Rogers, Milton

Bomber Warrior
1. Chad Brown, Milton
2. Nathan Woodworth, Essex Junction
3. Brent Warren, Salisbury

Duke Stock
1. Jason Barrett