Month: January 2011

Don Miller Named Vermont Motorsports Magazine Driver of the Year

Don Miller Named Vermont Motorsports Magazine Driver of the Year

Devil’s Bowl champion edges Thunder Road’s Sweet in online vote SOUTH BURLINGTON, VT — Stock car racing champion Don Miller has been named the Vermont Motorsports Magazine 2010 Driver of the Year by readers of Nearly 24,000 votes were cast across ten categories in a two-week online poll at the Vermont Motorsports Magazine website. Wells, Vt., driver Miller earned 22% of the vote in the overall VMM 2010 Driver of the Year category. The Sportsman Modified track champion at West Haven’s Devil’s Bowl Speedway edged Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl track champion Nick Sweet of Barre by just two...

Read More

Devil’s Bowl Under NASCAR Sanction In 2011

QUEENSBURY, N.Y. — NASCAR is back in Vermont. A meeting with drivers and owners in Queensbury, N.Y., on Friday evening introduced the Daytona Beach, Fla., sanctioning body as the new governing organization for Devil’s Bowl Speedway in West Haven and sister track Albany-Saratoga Speedway in Malta, N.Y., for 2011. The two tracks will join NASCAR’s Whelen All-American Series, where drivers from nearly 30 tracks in the United States and Canada compete against each other weekly for state, provincial, and national championships; NASCAR previously sanctioned both Devil’s Bowl and Albany-Saratoga during the 1970s. Officials from the Champlain Valley Racing Association, which owns and operates the two speedways, made the announcement to a group of about 100 people on Friday. Bob Duvall, NASCAR Director of Developmental Racing Series Operations, was on hand and spoke for just over an hour alongside Bruce and Jerry Richards of the CVRA. Press conferences are scheduled on Saturday for 10:00am in Saratoga, N.Y., and at 1:00 in Rutland to introduce NASCAR to the media. Duvall explained Friday that by becoming NASCAR-affiliated, the CVRA tracks will receive a multitude of benefits including point funds and medical insurance for competitors, and marketing and public relations assistance among other things. Each track will receive a NASCAR point fund of $16,500 — including $10,000 for the headline Crate Sportsman division — and drivers will take part in the NASCAR Whelen...

Read More
THE JUICE: Seriously Folks, Just Relax

THE JUICE: Seriously Folks, Just Relax

PHOTO: Is Scruffy Linardy going to win at New Smyrna? Probably not. But who cares? (Leif Tillotson photo) -by Justin St. Louis VMM Editor I’ll be honest with you, here. I had a big, fat, piece of negativity penned and ready to publish last week. I was ready to raise questions about whether or not the American-Canadian Tour should even bother going to the World Series at New Smyrna Speedway next month. I was ready to take back everything I said two months ago about how it wasn’t a huge gamble. I was ready to call Tom Curley a...

Read More


ACT Late Model Tour: Scott Payea

Sportsman Modified: Kevin Chaffee
Sportsman Coupe: Melvin Pierson
USAC Dirt Midget: Jason Goff
Limited Late Model: Ryan Christian
Four Cylinder: Jason Porter

Sportsman Modified: Kenny Tremont Jr.
Limited Sportsman: Brent Warren
Super Stock: Chris Murray
Mini Stock: Kaleb Shepard
500cc Mini Sprint: Cody O'Brien

500cc Mini Sprint: Tom Chaffee
600cc Mini Sprint: Zach Herbert

360 Sprint Car: Will Hull

Late Model: Scott Dragon
Flying Tiger: Joel Hodgdon
Street Stock: Stephen Martin

360 Wingless Sprint Car: Jamie Glidden

Twitter: @VMMupdates

VMM Archives