Vermont Motorsport Magazine Sponor

Touring Series News

McKennedy’s Title Defense Starts At Seekonk Sunday

- Justin St. Louis on 06 Oct 2010

(From series press release)

SEEKONK, Mass. --
When the Modified Racing Series rolled out the carpet for the 2010 season, Jon McKennedy was the series' defending champion. Six months later, the hard-charging East Chelmsford, Mass., driver is ready for a three-race playoff to determine the 2010 championship.

The popular McKennedy will take a 17-point lead into Seekonk (Mass.) Speedway this weekend to compete in the 100- lap D. Anthony Venditti
Fall Classic, a long-time holiday weekend tradition at the famed oval. Twin State Speedway in Claremont, N.H., and Lee USA Speedway in Lee, N.H., will provide the stage October 17 and 24, respectively.

McKennedy is trying to become only the second driver in series history to win consecutive titles. Kirk Alexander, a three-time champion, won back-to-back championships in 2004-05.

Close to 30 Modified race teams have pre-registered for this weekend’s race, with three former DAV Fall Classic race winners entered in the two-day program.

Seekonk's own Dave Berghman, Windsor Locks, Conn., veteran Les Hinckley, and Chris Pasteryak of Lisbon, Conn., are each hoping to score their second victory in the Venditti Classic.

Dwight Jarvis of Ascutney, Vt., currently second in the point standings will try to keep his title hopes alive, with Rowan Pennink of Huntingdon Valley, Pa., 33 points back in the standings, also entered.

Massachuetts drivers Steve Masse, Jimmy Kuhn, Jr., Joe Doucette, and Louie Mechalides, Connecticut racers Ken Barry and Jeff Malave, New Hampshire's Rob Goodenough, and 2009 Rookie of the Year Jacob Dore of Maine have all filed entries.

Koszela Speed Rookie of the Year candidates Todd Annarummo of Swansea, Mass., Joey Jarvis of Ascutney, Vt., Max Zachem of Preston, Conn., Geoff Gernhard of Salem, Conn., and Norm Wrenn of Nashua, N.H., are entered. Annarummo has already claimed victory twice this season at his home track at Seekonk.

Series newcomers John Hanafin of Quincy, Mass., Wayne Arute of Plainville, Conn., and Rob Williams of Winchendon, Mass., will also attempt to qualify.

Qualifying races will be contested on Sat., October 9, at 1:30pm, with the 100-lap MRS race scheduled for Sun., Oct 10., at 1:00pm.


Feb. 13/14, 2011
New Smyrna Speedway
New Smyrna Beach, FL

March 27, 2011
Waterford Speedbowl
Waterford, CT

April 30, 2011
Beech Ridge Motor Speedway
Scarborough, ME

2011 Schedule TBA

Goss Dodge-ChryslerBruno's TowingBFR ChassisSubway of Barre, Montpelier, Northfield, Waterbury, West LebanonFast One Motorsports C&S ScreenprintingMansfield HeliflightBarre-Montpelier Times ArgusRPM Racing Engines

Follow Vermont MotorMag