Vermont Motorsport Magazine Sponor

Touring Series News

Tremont Tackles Airborne Modifieds Sunday

- Justin St. Louis on 11 Sep 2010

Devil's Bowl Speedway champion Kenny Tremont, Jr., will try for his fourth Airborne Speedway win on Sunday.PHOTO: Devil's Bowl Speedway champion Kenny Tremont, Jr., will try for his fourth Airborne Speedway win on Sunday.

(From track press release)

Kenny Tremont of West Sand Lake, N.Y., recently crowned as the 2010 Devil’s Bowl Speedway 358 Modified champion, the winningest Modified driver in Lebanon Valley Speedway history, and a six-time Albany-Saratoga champion, has entered Sunday’s Tri-Track Modified Series Apple Bowl 100 at Airborne Speedway.

Tremont missed an earlier long-distance event at Airborne this summer because of a string of mechanical problems and vowed to return.

The Apple Bowl 100 is part of the Mohawk Casino Fall Foliage card headlined by the American-Canadian Tour (ACT) Late Model 300. From 2006-2008, when DIRTcar Modifieds contested the Fall Foliage event, Tremont won all three races.

Twenty years ago the Fall Foliage 300 was sanctioned by ACT and held at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough, Me. Dave Dion was the 1990 winner. Since then, Airborne has hosted the event.

Tremont will go up against the strongest field of Modifieds Airborne has ever had on a weekly basis. Patrick Dupree of Saranac Lake, N.Y., the 2010 track champion, and Martin Roy of Napierville, Que., made the most visits to the winner’s circle (6 each), but 22 different drivers recorded at least one top-five finish, including Tri-Track Series point leader Don Scarborough of Brandon, Vt.

The Monster Energy Bomber champion will be decided Saturday in addition to the final point race for NAPA Mini-Modifieds and qualifying events for the Sportsmen and Renegades. Josh Durivage, Scott Richner, and Bill Joyal enter the day within nine points of one another. Post time is 2:00pm.

Tri-Track Modified Racing Series Point Standings


1. Don Scarborough, Brandon, Vt. -- 285
2. Patrick Dupree, Saranac Lake, N.Y. -- 255
3. Mike Bruno, Castleton, Vt. -- 232
4. Leon Gonyo, Chazy, N.Y. -- 210
5. Keith Flach, Ravena, N.Y. -- 190
6. Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon, Vt. -- 180
7. Kenny Tremont, Jr., West Sand Lake, N.Y. -- 170
8. Jason Bruno, Morrisonville, N.Y. -- 150
9. Tim LaDuc, Orwell, Vt. -- 138
10. Marc Johnson, Guilderland, N.Y. -- 136


Feb. 13/14, 2011
New Smyrna Speedway
New Smyrna Beach, FL

March 27, 2011
Waterford Speedbowl
Waterford, CT

April 30, 2011
Beech Ridge Motor Speedway
Scarborough, ME

2011 Schedule TBA

Goss Dodge-ChryslerBruno's TowingBFR ChassisSubway of Barre, Montpelier, Northfield, Waterbury, West LebanonFast One Motorsports C&S ScreenprintingMansfield HeliflightBarre-Montpelier Times ArgusRPM Racing Engines

Follow Vermont MotorMag