Vermont Motorsport Magazine Sponor

Touring Series News

Modified Racing Series Title Becomes Four-Way Battle At Waterford

- Justin St. Louis on 01 Sep 2010

Jon McKennedy (#73) and Dwight Jarvis (#28) are two of the four drivers fighting for the Modified Racing Series championship. (Leif Tillotson photo)PHOTO: Jon McKennedy (#73) and Dwight Jarvis (#28) are two of the four drivers fighting for the Modified Racing Series championship. (Leif Tillotson photo)

(From series press release)

The Modified Racing Series returns to the Waterford (Conn.) Speedbowl on Saturday, September 4, with one of the hottest battles for the series championship in the seven-year existence of the tour.

Engine issues for the point leader, an off-night for the series’ defending champion, a dedicated car owner and hard working pit crew, and a well-deserved win by one of the series’ young stars last week at Thompson Int’l Speedway has created a logjam at the top of the standings.

Point leader Dwight Jarvis of Ascutney, Vt., suffered engine problems during practice at Thompson, forcing the former champion out of the event. Defending champion Jon McKennedy of East Chelmsford, Mass., second in the standings, was off the mark and involved in a late-race incident resulting in a 24th place finish.

Les Hinckley of Windsor Locks, Conn., entered the program 39 points behind Jarvis, but thanks to the hard work and commitment by car owner Chuck Montville and crew, Hinckley was race-ready after a hard practice session crash. In the feature race, he quietly made his way to a top-five finish after starting deep in the field, and ended up in a tie with McKennedy at the top of the standings.

The drama does not stop there; thanks to his win at Thompson, Rowan Pennink of Huntingdon Valley, Pa., is now only 33 points out of first place with five events remaining.

The “Thunder on the Sound” event presented by the Connecticut National Guard will feature 100 laps of green flag racing for the Modified Racing Series.

In addition to the top point men, additional entries expected include Connecticut racers Doug Coby, Keith Rocco, Kenny Barry, and Jeff Malave, Massachusetts drivers Steven Masse and Todd Annarummo, New Hampshire’s Jack Bateman, 2008 MRS champion, Chris Pasteryak and rookie drivers Joey Jarvis of Ascutney, Vt., and Geoff Gernhard of Salem, Conn.

The holiday weekend special begins at 4:45pm on Saturday.


Feb. 13/14, 2011
New Smyrna Speedway
New Smyrna Beach, FL

March 27, 2011
Waterford Speedbowl
Waterford, CT

April 30, 2011
Beech Ridge Motor Speedway
Scarborough, ME

2011 Schedule TBA

Goss Dodge-ChryslerBruno's TowingBFR ChassisSubway of Barre, Montpelier, Northfield, Waterbury, West LebanonFast One Motorsports C&S ScreenprintingMansfield HeliflightBarre-Montpelier Times ArgusRPM Racing Engines

Follow Vermont MotorMag