Vermont Motorsport Magazine Sponor

Touring Series News

Hinckley Looks For Thompson MRS Sweep, Large Field Expected

- Justin St. Louis on 25 Aug 2010

Les Hinckley hopes to reel in Modified Racing Series point leaders Dwight Jarvis and Jon McKennedy with a Thompson sweep. (Eric LaFleche/ photo)PHOTO: Les Hinckley hopes to reel in Modified Racing Series point leaders Dwight Jarvis and Jon McKennedy with a Thompson sweep. (Eric LaFleche/ photo)

(From series press release)

THOMPSON, Conn. --
Thirteen-time winner Les Hinckley of Windsor Locks, Conn., fresh off a strong second-place finish last weekend at Seekonk Speedway, leads the list of 32 pre-registered drivers for Thursday night's return by the Modified Racing Series at Thompson Int'l Speedway.

Hinckley won the series' race there in June, his first ever win at the famed speedway.

An early leader in the point standings for the series championship, Hinckley has overcome some recent tough luck to stay within striking distance of point leaders Dwight Jarvis of Ascutney, Vt., and Jon McKennedy of East Chelmsford, Mass. Hinckley is 39 points from first place, while only five points separate Jarvis and McKennedy.

"Hopefully we turned it around," said Hinckley. "At Waterford, we hurt the motor [and] needed a new clip. It was discouraging. Our guys worked very hard. Seekonk was a shot in the arm. We’ll go to Thompson and keep our chin up."

Both Jarvis and McKennedy are entered in the special program that will feature a 75-lap feature. Also entered are 2010 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion Keith Rocco of Wallingford, Conn., nine-time NASCAR champion Mike Stefanik of Coventry, R.I., Todd Owen of Somers, Conn., Rowan Pennink of Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Steve Masse of Bellingham, Mass., Louie Mechalides of Tyngsboro, Mass., Charlie Pasteryak of Lisbon, Conn., and Eric Goodale of Wading River, N.Y.

Koszela Speed Rookie contenders Max Zachem of Preston, Conn., Joey Jarvis of Ascutney, Vt., and Norm Wrenn of Nashua, N.H., are also expected, as is last year’s top rookie, Jacob Dore of Sanford, Me.

Veteran drivers Rob Goodeough of Swanzey, N.H., Ken Barry of Preston, Conn., Eddy Spiers of Beacon Falls, Conn., Ron Silk of Norwalk, Conn., and Jeff Malave of Manchester, Conn., are also expected entries. Race time is 6:00pm.


Feb. 13/14, 2011
New Smyrna Speedway
New Smyrna Beach, FL

March 27, 2011
Waterford Speedbowl
Waterford, CT

April 30, 2011
Beech Ridge Motor Speedway
Scarborough, ME

2011 Schedule TBA

Goss Dodge-ChryslerBruno's TowingBFR ChassisSubway of Barre, Montpelier, Northfield, Waterbury, West LebanonFast One Motorsports C&S ScreenprintingMansfield HeliflightBarre-Montpelier Times ArgusRPM Racing Engines

Follow Vermont MotorMag