Vermont Motorsport Magazine Sponor

Touring Series News

Goodale Nabs First Modified Racing Series Win At Canaan

- Justin St. Louis on 26 Jul 2010

Eric Goodale was a first-time Modified Racing Series winner at Canaan Fair Speedway on Saturday. (Linmat photo)PHOTO: Eric Goodale was a first-time Modified Racing Series winner at Canaan Fair Speedway on Saturday. (Linmat photo)

(From series press release)

Starting third in a 24-car field, Eric Goodale of Wading River, N.Y., took the lead on lap 13 and went on to win the Modified Racing Series 112-lap Ricky Miller Memorial Race on Saturday at Canaan Fair Speedway. It was Goodale’s first win with the series. He also became the ninth different winner in ten races this season.

Polesitter Jon McKennedy led the first 12 laps before giving up the lead position to Goodale on lap 13. Goodale was pursued by Steven Masse for several laps, then Mike Holdridge and Dwight Jarvis. The race was slowed on lap 101 for a caution period that closed up the field. On the restart, Jarvis tried every move possible to get by the race leader but Goodale was equal to the task.

At the finish, Goodale beat Jarvis by 0.149 seconds with McKennedy 0.141 seconds behind Jarvis.

Five caution periods slowed the race that was contested in 59 minutes 16 seconds. 15 cars finished the race on the lead lap.

The Modified Racing Series returns to action at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough, Me., on Saturday, August 7.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS -- Ricky Miller Memorial 112
Modified Racing Series -- Canaan Fair Speedway, Canaan, N.H.
Saturday, July 24, 2010

# - denotes rookie

1. Eric Goodale, Wading River, N.Y.
2. Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney
3. Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford, Mass.
4. Mike Holdridge, Madison, Conn.
5. Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Penn.
6. Rob Goodenough, Swanzey, N.H.
7. # Max Zachem, Preston, Conn.
8. Jacob Dore, Sanford, Me.
9. Charlie Pasteryak, Lisbon, Conn.
10. Steve Masse, Bellingham, Mass.
11. # Joey Jarvis, Ascutney
12. Jack Bateman, Canaan, N.H.
13. # Norm Wrenn, Nashua, N.H.
14. Eddy Spiers, Beacon Falls, Conn.
15. Joe Doucette, Framingham, Mass.
16. Ken Barry, Preston, Conn.
17. # Geoff Gernhard, Salem, Conn.
18. Kenny White Jr., Weare, N.H.
19. Todd Annarummo, Swansea, Mass.
20. Jim Dolan, Bethel, Conn.
21. Les Hinckley, III, Windsor Locks, Conn.
22. Sean Bodreau, Claremont, N.H.
23. Bryon Baker, Claremont, N.H.
24. Mike Douglas Jr., Penacook, N.H.

DNQ: Arthur Heino, Dana Smith, Mike Keeler, Bobby Drown


Feb. 13/14, 2011
New Smyrna Speedway
New Smyrna Beach, FL

March 27, 2011
Waterford Speedbowl
Waterford, CT

April 30, 2011
Beech Ridge Motor Speedway
Scarborough, ME

2011 Schedule TBA

Goss Dodge-ChryslerBruno's TowingBFR ChassisSubway of Barre, Montpelier, Northfield, Waterbury, West LebanonFast One Motorsports C&S ScreenprintingMansfield HeliflightBarre-Montpelier Times ArgusRPM Racing Engines

Follow Vermont MotorMag