Vermont Motorsport Magazine Sponor

Touring Series News

Modified Racing Series Heads to Oxford Plains Speedway Saturday

- Justin St. Louis on 14 Jul 2010

(From series press release)

OXFORD, Me. --
With the second half of the season set to begin this weekend, the New England-based Modified Racing Series, sponsored by, heads to Oxford, Me., for its fourth appearance as part of the 37th annual TD Bank 250 weekend at Oxford Plains Speedway. The open-wheel, 600 horsepower Modifieds will compete in the "Maine-ly Action Sports 100" on Saturday, July 17.

The three previous races held at Oxford Plains were hotly contested and this year's event promises to be the same based on the drivers planning on making the trip.

Maine drivers expected to enter the race are both popular and successful competitors with the seventh-year series. Defending Koszela Speed Rookie of the Year Jacob Dore of Sanford, a former winner at Twin State Speedway, and 2008 Oxford winner David Pinkham of Buxton are ready to defend their home turf. Pinkham will drive for long-time car owner and builder Tom Greeley of Auburn.

Last year's winner of the Oxford race and 2009 series champion, Jon McKennedy of East Chelmsford, Mass., will try to win his second consecutive race at Oxford and his second series win in a row. He was last week’s winner at Lee USA Speedway and is also coming off a strong run at the recent event at Monadnock Speedway on July 3.

Former champion Dwight Jarvis of Ascutney, Vt., is also expected at Oxford, as is Les Hinckley of Windsor Locks, Conn. Hinckley already has wins this year at Plattsburgh, N.Y., and Thompson, Conn., and is ranked second on the series' all-time win list.

Defending Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series champion Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa., has been designated to pilot the Gary Casella-owner Roscoe Racing #25 normally driven by fellow Pennsylvania racer Rowan Pennink, who is taking the night off from MRS competition. In addition to his success with the RoC series and NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, Hirschman is also a former winner with the MRS driving the Casella car.

Longtime veteran drivers Charlie and Carl Pasteryak of Jewett City, Conn., will also make the trip. Former MRS champion Chris Pasteryak will be sidelined with a wrist injury suffered last week at Lee USA Speedway.

Race time at Oxford Plains Speedway is Saturday at 6:30pm. More information is available at


Feb. 13/14, 2011
New Smyrna Speedway
New Smyrna Beach, FL

March 27, 2011
Waterford Speedbowl
Waterford, CT

April 30, 2011
Beech Ridge Motor Speedway
Scarborough, ME

2011 Schedule TBA

Goss Dodge-ChryslerBruno's TowingBFR ChassisSubway of Barre, Montpelier, Northfield, Waterbury, West LebanonFast One Motorsports C&S ScreenprintingMansfield HeliflightBarre-Montpelier Times ArgusRPM Racing Engines

Follow Vermont MotorMag