Vermont Motorsports Magazine

Anthony Sweet Designs

Thirty Drivers Already Entered for 41st Oxford 250

Posted By Tj Ingerson On March 11, 2014

Categories: Granite State Pro Stock | Pro All Stars Series | Valenti Modified

Entires for the 41st Oxford 250 continue to roll in at a steady pace with drivers already committing from all over the eastern seaboard. (Norm Marx/PASS photo)PHOTO: Entires for the 41st Oxford 250 continue to roll in at a steady pace with drivers already committing from all over the eastern seaboard. (Norm Marx/PASS photo)

Valenti Modified Racing Series adds marketing partners; GSPSS announces staff

--by T.J. Ingerson
VMM Editor

OXFORD, Maine -- Thirty drivers have filed their entries for the 41st Oxford 250 with over four months until the historic event.

“It appears that interest is at an all-time high for the 250 this year,” Pro All Stars Series and Oxford Plains Speedway president Tom Mayberry stated. “The competition for this event just keeps getting better.”

The top three finishes from one year ago, Travis Benjamin, Joey Doiron, and Jay Fogleman, were among the first drivers to file their entries. The trio are joined by 2013 PASS North champion Cassius Clark, multi-time PASS champions Johnny Clark and Ben Rowe, and multi-time Oxford champion Tim Brackett.

Daniel Hemric of Kannapolis, N.C., leads the list of southern drivers expected to make the trek north to the Oxford 250. Hemric won the inaugural Southern Super Series championship in 2013, the JEGS All Star Tour championship in 2012, and the Legends Million in 2010.

The list of recent Late Model drivers continue to grow with the addition of two-time ACT Late Model Tour champion Wayne Helliwell, Jr., of Dover, N.H., ACT Late Model Tour winners Brent Dragon of Milton, Vt., and Travis Stearns of Auburn, Maine, and Maine veterans Glen Luce of Turner, Maine and Ricky Rolfe of Albany-Township, Maine. Rolfe competed in the 250 one year ago and claimed the Last Chance Qualifier win.

A pair of teenage drivers have filed their entries with Tate Fogleman of Durham, N.C., and Tyler Dippell of Wallkill, N.Y.

The Oxford 250 is scheduled for Sunday, July 20.

* * *

Valenti Modified Racing Series officials have announced two new marketing partners in advance of the series’ 11th season of competition.

Mr. Rooter Plumbing of South Central, Conn., and Waddell Communications have joined the Valenti Modified Racing Series for 2014 as the sponsors of the Rookie of the Year and Lap Leader Challenge aware, respectively.

Three first year drivers, Mike Willis, Jr., of Grantham, N.H., Rob Richardi, Jr., of Easton, Mass., and Carl Medeiros, Jr., of Westport, Mass., have made it their intent to compete full-time on the New Hampshire-based series and chance after the Mr. Rooter Rookie of the Year award. Willis ran four events in 2013 and was rewarded with three top-ten place finishes. Richardi was crowned the 2012 New England Pro 4 Modified champion and won half of the races he entered in one year ago. Medeiros is the reigning NEMA Lites champion.

The Waddell Communications Lap Leader Challenge award will see the leader of the most laps during the 2014 season receive $1,000.

Vinny Beedle of Mr. Rooter Plumbing and Shawn Waddell of Waddell Communications join the current list of long-time marketing partners the series boasts, which includes John Holland of New England Race Fuels, Art Barry of SPAFCO Engineering, and Sherwood Racing Wheels.

The Valenti Modified Racing Series season will open on Sunday, March 30 at Waterford Speedbowl with the traditional Blastoff 100. Qualifying for the event is one day earlier on Saturday, March 29.

* * *

Granite State Pro Stock Series announced their staff for the upcoming season, which includes the return of two key members, Managing Event Director Josh Vanada and Director of Operations and Race Day Coordinator Jenn Ready.

“We are glad to welcome back our talent group of officials, as well as welcome a few new ones,” Vanada stated. “Our staff is the lifeblood of our race day operations and we are fortunate to have a talent and accommodating team.”

“I am personally looking forward to 2014 as we will, quite possibly, have the best touring staff in the northeast,” Ready said.

Vanada and Ready will be joined in their returns by the chief technical duo of Scott Miller and Pete Frappier. Miller and Frappier will be joined by Randy Stefanik, Mike Green, Ken Fowler, and Ray King.

Longtime race official Cynthia Tebbetts will join the Granite State Pro Stock Series as Assistant Event Director. Tebbetts’ experience includes Lee USA Speedway, Northeastern Midget Association (NEMA), and currently, the International Supermodified Association (ISMA).

Former Riverside (N.H.) Speedway announcer Shawn Sicard has been hired as the series’ announcer and will handle the series public relation duties.

The Granite State Pro Stock Series season will kick off on Sunday, April 6 with the Town Fair Tire Icebreaker 50 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park. Qualifying is slated to take place on Saturday, April 5.