Vermont Motorsports Magazine

Goss Dodge

Squier Nominated for Landmark Award

Posted By Tj Ingerson On February 21, 2014

Categories: Devil's Bowl | Regional | Thunder Road

Ken Squier has been name one of five nominees for the inaugural NASCAR Landmark Award. (Getty Images photo)PHOTO: Ken Squier has been name one of five nominees for the inaugural NASCAR Landmark Award. (Getty Images photo)

Stone claims championship at World Series

--by T.J. Ingerson
VMM Editor

Famed broadcaster Ken Squier has been named one of five nominees for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR

The Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR will honor significant contributions to the growth and esteem of NASCAR. Potential recipients of the award could include competitors, a member of a racing organization, track facility, race team, sponsor, media partner, or general ambassador. The nominees are selected by the NASCAR Hall of Fame Nominating Committee and voted on by the same Voting Panel that selects members to the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Squier is joined by H. Clay Earles, Anne B. France, Raymond Parks, and Ralph Seagraves as nominees.

Nine-time NASCAR champion Mike Stefanik was nominated for enshrinement into the NASCAR Hall of Fame by the 22-person nominating committee. The Coventry, R.I., driver sits on top of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour all-time wins list and has scored a seven NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championships. Stefanik also scored championships in the then NASCAR Busch North Series in 1997 and 1998.

The five Hall of Fame inductees and the Landmark Award recipient will be selected on Wednesday, May 24.

* * *

Todd Stone continued his 2013 winnings ways into a new year as he captured the Florida Modified division championship at the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway.

The Middlebury driver competed in four events and captured two wins along with a runner-up place finish and a fourth place finish to secure the division’s championship.

Stone’s championships was not without a heart stopping moment as he tangled with Florida veteran Doug Moff in the 75-lap finale on Wednesday night. The two drivers spun out with 19 laps remaining, but continued on and were able to race their way back to the front of the field. Although Moff claimed the checkered flag, his win was disallowed for a technical violation, handing the win to Stone and sealing the championship.

“It’s awesome,” Stone stated in a press release. “My team and dad and I came down to have some fun, and it was a lot of fun. To run against the regulars here and be competitive and win the championship, that’s a huge accomplishment for us.

“My team worked really hard all week and we’re all enjoying this a lot.”

Stone becomes the first Vermont driver to win a title in any division in the 48-year history of the World Series at New Smyrna.