Vermont Motorsports Magazine

RPM Racing Engines

Shaw Goes Back-to-Back in PASS, Wins at WMMP

Posted By Tj Ingerson On August 14, 2012

Categories: Pro All Stars Series

D.J. Shaw scored back-to-back Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model wins after he won the rain-shortened event at White Mountain Motorsports Park. (Norm Marx photo)PHOTO: D.J. Shaw scored back-to-back Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model wins after he won the rain-shortened event at White Mountain Motorsports Park. (Norm Marx photo)

D.J. Shaw threw his name into the Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model championship hunt with back-to-back victories, the latest coming Sunday at White Mountain Motorsports Park.

The Center Conway, N.H., hot shoe started deep in the 21-car field and cruised through the field to take the lead from Canadian Lonnie Sommerville on lap 53. The former White Mountain Motorsports Park Late Model champion held off restart challenges from Sommerville late in the race. Rain moved into the area during a caution flag on lap 123, and the race was deemed complete by officials. Sommerville, of St. Johns, N.B., finished second.

Sommerville’s car owner and teammate, Scott Mulkern, had a late race battle for the third position with John Donahue. The duo made contact into the first corner, which saw Mulkern get turned into the wall on lap 123. Donahue was penalized for the incident, which handed the final podium spot to Farmington, Maine’s Cassius Clark. Clark, the series points leader, traveled from Halifax, Nova Scotia Saturday night after he won the Atlantic CAT 250 at Scotia Speedworld.

Joey Doiron, of Berwick, Maine, rebounded from a lap 26 spin to finish fourth. Ben Rowe, of Turner, Maine, scored his second consecutive top-five finish with a fifth place effort. Defending champion Johnny Clark, veteran Gary Smith, newcomer Dan Colby, Derek Ramstrom, and Bryan Kruczek completed the top ten. Donahue was credited with 12th, with Mulkern in 13th.

Clark retained his series point lead and leads Travis Benjamin by 19 points. Shaw sits in third, 22 points back.

Joe Pastore, Jr., of Gorham, Maine, bested a 17-car PASS Sportsman field and claimed his first win of the season in the 75-lap Sportsman feature.. Pastore took the lead on lap 53 from Jerrad Ledger after contact. As Ledger attempted to regain control of his car, Beech Ridge Motor Speedway Pro Series star Dan McKeage and former White Mountain Motorsports Park champion Mike Clark were able to get by. McKeage, of Gorham, Maine, and Clark, of Littleton, N.H., finished second and third. Defending series champion Carey Martin was fourth, while Ledger hung on for the fifth position.

Dale Shaw grabbed his first PASS Modified win of the season in their 40-lap feature event. Shaw, of Center Conway, N.H., took the lead on lap five and pulled away from the field. Alan Wilson, of Hebron, Maine, attempted to challenge Shaw late in the race, but fell short and finished second. Travis Buzzell, of Hollis, Maine, finished third. Defending champion Andy Shaw and Mike Orr completed the top five.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS -- White Mountain 150
Pro All Stars Series -- White Mountain Motorsports Park, North Woodstock, N.H.
Sunday, August 12, 2012


Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Models (150 laps)
1. D.J. Shaw, Center Conway, N.H.
2. Lonnie Sommerville, St. Johns, N.B.
3. Cassius Clark, Farmington, Maine
4. Joey Doiron, Berwick, Maine
5. Ben Rowe, Turner, Maine
6. Johnny Clark, Hallowell, Maine
7. Gary Smith, Bangor, Maine
8. Dan Colby, Lyman, N.H.
9. Derek Ramstrom, Worcester, Mass.
10. Bryan Kruczek, Newmarket, N.H.
11. Travis Benjamin, Morrill, Maine
12. John Donahue, Graniteville, Vt.
13. Scott Mulkern, Falmouth, Maine
14. Kyle DeSouza, East Providence, R.I.
15. Matt Harris, Fredericton Jct., N.B.
16. Scott Dragon, Milton, Vt.
17. Curtis Geary, Biddeford, Maine
18. Chad Dow, Fairfield, Maine
19. Ben Clark, Clinton, Maine
20. Austin Brehio, Hopkinton, N.H.
21. Kevin Roberge, Levis, Que.

Pro All Stars Series Sportsman (75 laps)
1. Joe Pastore, Gorham, Maine
2. Dan McKeage, Gorham, Maine
3. Mike Clark, Littleton, N.H.
4. Carey Martin, Denmark, Maine
5. Jerrad Ledger, Groveton, N.H.
6. Allan Moeller, Sr., Dresden, Maine
7. Clyde Hennessey, Windham, Maine
8. Craig Smith, East Waterboro, Maine
9. Sammy Gooden, Whitefield, N.H.
10. Jason Welch, Northfield, N.H.

Pro All Stars Series Modifieds (40 laps)
1. Dale Shaw, Center Conway, N.H.
2. Alan Wilson, Hebron, Maine
3. Travis Buzzel, Hollis, Maine
4. Andy Shaw, Center Conway, N.H.
5. Mike Orr, Wiscasset, Maine
6. Bill Dixon, North Waterboro, Maine
7. Mike Carignan, Somersworth, N.H.
8. Mitch Miller, West Boylston, Mass.
9. Dave Sprague, West Buxton, Maine
10. Sumner Sessions, Norway, Maine