Vermont Motorsports Magazine

Goss Dodge

Rowe Back in Oxford Victory Lane after Historic Day

Posted By Tj Ingerson On April 20, 2015

Categories: Pro All Stars Series

Mike Rowe and his new Petit Motorsports team celebrate their PASS North Super Late Model win on Sunday afternoon at Oxford Plains Speedway. (T.J. Ingerson/VMM photo)PHOTO: 'Mike Rowe and his new Petit Motorsports team celebrate their PASS North Super Late Model win on Sunday afternoon at Oxford Plains Speedway. (T.J. Ingerson/VMM photo)

--by T.J. Ingerson (@TJIngerson)
VMM Editor

OXFORD, Maine --
Mike Rowe has written a couple of chapters in the Oxford Plains Speedway history book and on a historic Sunday afternoon, he helped being another one.

The seven-time Oxford champion and three-time Oxford 250 winner claimed the Pro All Stars Series AIM Recycling North Super Late Model 150-lap feature event during the first ever doubleheader with the American-Canadian Tour.

The Turner, Maine driver held off a stiff challenge from defending series champion D.J. Shaw over the final 25 laps to claim his 19th career PASS North triumph and his first win at Oxford since 2005.

“I knew I had a good car here today,” Rowe said in victory lane. “I just sat back and waited after I led early and it paid off in the end.

“D.J. (Shaw) got into me once just a little, but he lifted and that was good. He ran me clean all the way and that’s all you can ask for.”

Rowe swapped rides before the season began and teamed up with Petit Motorsports owned by Peter Petit.

“A driver can’t win one of these things alone,” Rowe said. “It takes a good crew and I sure had one here today. I’m thrilled to start a new season with a new team in victory lane.”

For Shaw, the Center Conway, N.H., runner-up, he stated he was happy with his finish after a busy weekend, but appeared to be slightly defeated after finishing second to the Maine racing legend.

“I think I had the better car but catching Mike is different than passing him. He earned it today,” Shaw said in victory lane. “I’m happy with a second-place finish the way the weekend has gone. We struggled all through practice and put a lot of new stuff into this car.”

Westbrook, Maine driver Tony Ricci tied a career-best finish with a third place finish while David Oliver of Standish, Maine finished fourth. Garrett Hall of Scarborough, Maine scored a career-best finish in just his second Pro All Stars Series start as he completed the top-five finishers.

Former series champion Cassius Clark raced from a deep starting spot to finish sixth while Reid Lanpher claimed the seventh finishing spot. Joey Doiron, too, ran from a deep starting spot to finish eighth. Multi-time American-Canadian Tour champion Brian Hoar finished ninth while fellow Vermont driver Bobby Therrien completed the top-ten finishers.

The Pro All Stars Series will take a week off before returning to racing action on Saturday, May 2 at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway.

Vermont Motorsports Magazine will have more from the historic American-Canadian Tour and Pro All Stars Series doubleheader this week.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – AIM Recycling/Kenny U Pull 150
PASS AIM Recycling Super Late Models – Oxford Plains Speedway, Oxford, Maine
Sunday, April 19, 2015


1. (2) Mike Rowe, Turner, Maine
2. (6) D.J. Shaw, Center Conway, N.H.
3. (8) Tony Ricci, Westbrook, Maine
4. (19) David Oliver, Standish, Maine
5. (14) Garrett Hall, Scarborough, Maine
6. (28) Cassius Clark, Farmington, Maine
7. (16) Reid Lanpher, Manchester, Maine
8. (25) Joey Doiron, Berwick, Maine
9. (17) Brian Hoar, Williston, Vt.
10. (20) Bobby Therrien, Hinesburg, Vt.
11. (21) Richie Dearborn, Hollis, Maine
12. (37) Tim Brackett, Buckfield, Maine
13. (5) Jeremy Davis, Tamworth, N.H.
14. (23) Glen Luce, Turner, Maine
15. (11) Scott Mulkern, Falmouth, Maine
16. (3) Bobby Timmons, Windham, Maine
17. (26) Johnny Clark, Hallowell, Maine
18. (9) Ben Rowe, Turner, Maine
19. (18) Jeff Taylor, Farmington, Maine
20. (32) Scott Farrington, Minot, Maine
21. (24) Mike Landry, Oakland, Maine
22. (10) Dave Farrington Jr., Jay, Maine
23. (34) Bryan Kruczek, Newmarket, N.H.
24. (36) Travis Benjamin, Morrill, Maine
25. (30) Dillon Moltz, Waterford, Conn.
26. (13) Tyler King, Livermore Falls, Maine
27. (15) Shawn Martin, Auburn, Maine
28. (31) Brent Dragon, Milton, Vt.
29. (38) Adam Polvinen, Auburn, Maine
30. (22) Raphael Lessard, St-Joseph, Que.
31. (1) Joey Polewarczyk Jr., Hudson, N.H.
32. (12) Mike Hopkins, Hermon, Maine
33. (27) Travis Stearns, Auburn, Maine
34. (7) Shawn Knight, South Paris, Maine
35. (29) T.J. Brackett, Buckfield, Maine
36. (33) Scott McDaniel, Livermore, Maine
37. (4) Trevor Sanborn, East Parsonsfields, Maine
38. (35) Kyle Desouza, East Providence, R.I.