Vermont Motorsports Magazine

Anthony Sweet Designs

McGrail Holds On, Snags Third Modified Win at Airborne

Posted By Tj Ingerson On August 7, 2012

Categories: Airborne

BFR Chassis, the asphalt chassis specialist, Whately, Massachusetts, www.bfrchassis.comPatrice McGrail of Candiac, Que., is elated in victory lane after passing Kris Vernold on lap 23 to win Saturday night's 30-lap DIRTcar Modified feature at Airborne Speedway. (Ricky St. Clair/VMM photo)PHOTO: Patrice McGrail of Candiac, Que., is elated in victory lane after passing Kris Vernold on lap 23 to win Saturday night's 30-lap DIRTcar Modified feature at Airborne Speedway. (Ricky St. Clair/VMM photo)

--by Ricky St. Clair

Patrice McGrail’s sizeable lead on second-place runner Kris Vernold in the closing stages of Saturday night’s DIRTcar Modified feature at Airborne Speedway almost guaranteed his third win of the summer -- until the last 600-feet.

A caution period for a one-car incident in turn three while McGrail was completing his final turn of the event setup a green-white-checkered single-file restart, and denied the Candiac, Que., native of any reassurance.

With Vernold, Todd Stone, Roger Labreche, and George Foley all on his back bumper, McGrail jumped out and successfully went on to grab another checkered flag cutting Stone’s point lead to a mere 14 markers.

“It was a hard, tough race,” McGrail said. “I’m glad I made the race winning pass with about seven or eight-laps to go because I don’t know if I would’ve had anything on that final restart.”

Vernold, who picked up his first career Modified victory one week ago, took advantage of another front row starting position and held on to second. Stone, Greg Atkins, and Roger Labreche completed the unofficial top-five.

Positions six through ten went to Foley, Aaron Bartemy, Vince Quenneville, Chris Cayea, and Andy Lindeman.

The event featured one red flag on lap one when Patrick Dupree sailed off of turn three and into multiple tractor tires. He was OK, but did not return to competition. The 30-lap feature was completed in 22 minutes and 39 seconds with McGrail’s margin of victory on Vernold at 0.888 seconds.

Jamie LaFountain of Keeseville, N.Y., earned his second career Sportsman Modified feature by fending off Lonnie Rivers of Cadyville, N.Y., and Olmstedville, N.Y., teenager Jessey Mueller in a marathon-type race. A string of caution periods early in the event resulted in several double-file restarts before the halfway mark. Morrisonville, N.Y., point leader Nick Heywood and JohnMichael Bresette of Keeseville, N.Y., rounded out the night’s top-five finishers.

The win unofficially launched with LaFountain into third in the standings with just a handful of points-counting events remaining on the 2012 racing calendar.

Robbie Favreau of Peru, N.Y., overtook Tylor Terry on lap 15 and survived a lap 19 restart for his first Renegade feature win of 2012.

Favreau elected to race in the second-grove of the progressively banked track while Terry and two-time and defending champion Kevin Boutin went side-by-side for the final six-laps. Boutin, Terry, Lance Rabtoy and Don Franklin went three though five, respectively.

Jayson Criss of Plattsburgh, N.Y., grabbed his third win of the season by edging out Josh LaPorte of Peru, N.Y., and Keeseville, N.Y., competitor Rob Clark in the 15-lap Mini-Modified feature.

Weekly racing at Airborne continues next Saturday with the Charlie Trombley Memorial 50 for the DIRTcar Modifieds highlighting the card. Post time is scheduled for 6 p.m.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS -- Della Auto/Furniture World of Vermont/Culligan Water/Aaron’s Night
Airborne Speedway, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
Saturday, August 4, 2012


DIRTcar Modifieds (30 laps)
1. Patrice McGrail, Candiac, Que.
2. Kris Vernold, Kingsbury, N.Y.
3. Todd Stone, Middlebury, Vt.
4. Greg Atkins, Clintonville, N.Y
5. Roger Labreche, St-Remie, Que.
6. George Foley, Vermontville, N.Y..
7. Aaron Bartemy, Champlain, N.Y.
8. Vince Quenneville, Brandon, Vt.
9. Chris Cayea, Mooers Forks, N.Y.
10. Andy Lindeman, Poestenkill, N.Y.

Sportsman Modifieds (20 laps)
1. Jamie LaFountain, Keeseville, N.Y.
2. Lonnie Rivers, Cadyville, N.Y.
3. Jessey Mueller, Olmstedville, N.Y.
4. Nick Heywood, Morrisonville, N.Y.
5. JohnMichael Bresette, Keeseville, N.Y.

Renegades (25 laps)
1. Robbie Favreau, Peru, N.Y.
2. Kevin Boutin, Fairfax, Vt.
3. Tylor Terry, Morrisonville, N.Y
4. Lance Rabtoy, Fairfax, Vt.
5. Don Franklin, Milton, Vt.
6. Rick Doner, Clintonville, N.Y.
7. Mark Caron, Peru, N.Y.
9. Jimmy Varno, Peru, N.Y.
10. Josh Terry, Essex, N.Y.

Mini-Modifieds (15 laps)
1. Jayson Criss, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
2. Josh LaPorte, Peru, N.Y.
3. Rob Clark, Keeseville, N.Y.
4. Erick Sayles, Lake Clear, N.Y.
5. John Bradley, Morrisonville, N.Y.